Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tennessee Authors (Special Collections): Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials about prominent authors in Tennessee.

What's in this Guide?

Black and white photograph of Arthur Stupka (standing) lecturing to the Smoky Mountains Hiking Club (sitting and lounging) in the smokies.Tennessee has been home to many notable writers including James Agee, Nikki Giovanni, Evelyn Scott, and Allen Tate. This research guide identifies Special Collections materials by and related to these and other prominent poets, authors, historians, and essayists that lived in Tennessee or wrote about the region.

Arthur Stupka lecturing to the Smoky Mountains Hiking Club on May 3rd, 1942. From the Albert "Dutch" Roth Photograph Collection

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to Tennessee authors. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • Southern American literature
  • Tennessee Authors
  • Southern American Women Authors
  • Southern American authors
  • American Literature
  • Southern American Women Poets
  • Southern American poets
  • Southern States
  • American Poets
  • Tennessee poets
  • Tennessee
  • American Authors

General Special Collection Resources for Tennessee Authors

Tennessee in literature. 1949 (PS253.T2 H3)
Our literary heritage. A guide for Tennessee in literature. 1962 (PS253.T2 M3)
Authors of Tennessee. 1965 (PS253.T2 M4)
Poets in Tennessee: fifteen biographical notes. 1969 (PS266.T2 T4)
Authors of Nashville and Davidson County. 1974 (PS253.T2 N3)
Tennessee belles-lettres: a guide to Tennessee literature. 1977 (PS266.T2 W37)
Tennessee writers. 1981 (PS266.T2 Y6)
Literature of Tennessee. 1984 (PS266.T2 L57 1984)
Native Tennessee authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature. 1996 (PS266.T2 P34 1996)

Special Collections Contact Information

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website