Skip to main content
Skip to content

Tennessee Authors (Special Collections): Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials about prominent authors in Tennessee.

Special Collections: Getting Started

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections.

Tennessee has been home to many notable writers including James Agee, Nikki Giovanni, Evelyn Scott, and Allen Tate. This research guide identifies special collections materials by and related to these and other prominent poets, authors, historians, and essayists that lived in Tennessee or wrote about the region.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to selected authors whose works are available in our collections. To find more materials:

General Resources

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to Tennessee authors.

Search Terms

The Special Collections online finding aids are indexed using Library of Congress headings. Some relevant headings include:

American literature -- Southern States
Authors, American -- Southern States
Authors, American -- Tennessee
Poets, American -- Southern States
Poets, American -- Tennessee
Women authors, American -- Southern States
Women authors, American -- Tennessee

General Information

Tennessee in literature. 1949 (PS253.T2 H3)
Our literary heritage. A guide for Tennessee in literature. 1962 (PS253.T2 M3)
Authors of Tennessee. 1965 (PS253.T2 M4)
Poets in Tennessee: fifteen biographical notes. 1969 (PS266.T2 T4)
Authors of Nashville and Davidson County. 1974 (PS253.T2 N3)
Tennessee belles-lettres: a guide to Tennessee literature. 1977 (PS266.T2 W37)
Tennessee writers. 1981 (PS266.T2 Y6)
Literature of Tennessee. 1984 (PS266.T2 L57 1984)
Native Tennessee authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature. 1996 (PS266.T2 P34 1996)

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website