General Special Collections Resources
Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections.
Tennessee has been home to many notable writers including James Agee, Nikki Giovanni, Evelyn Scott, and Allen Tate. This research guide identifies special collections materials by and related to these and other prominent poets, authors, historians, and essayists that lived in Tennessee or wrote about the region.
The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to selected authors whose works are available in our collections. To find more materials:
- Special CollectionsThe Special Collections website provides information about how to access collections, request materials, and provides further instruction.
- SCOUT: Special Collections Online @ UTSCOUT is Special Collections' finding aid database. You can use SCOUT to access detailed information and find every manuscript and archive collection in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Tennessee.
- UT Libraries Digital CollectionsUT Libraries Digital Collections contain images, manuscripts, and audiovisual material related to East Tennessee and American history.
- Volunteer VoicesVolunteer Voices contains digital collections from libraries and other institutions across Tennessee.
- UTK Library CatalogArchival research gets easier the more you know about your topic. Don't forget you can search the library catalog to find books and external databases that will be very helpful in your research.
Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.