Agriculture & Natural Resources Librarian
2407 River Drive, A113D5
Knoxville, TN 37996
Contact Pendergrass Library
- Email: agvetlib@utk.edu
- Text: 865-320-9885
Accessing Databases
Listed below are databases with specific subject coverage that you should search depending on your topic. Clicking the links will open new tabs.
Please visit this FAQ for instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
If you have questions about access to the databases you can use this link to chat with a librarian or to view FAQs about the library.
If you run into a problem accessing any of the databases you can use this form to submit feedback, or contact via email, eproblems@utk.edu.
Best Bet Databases
- AGRICOLACovers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
- Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
- Gale In Context. Opposing Viewpoints
Provides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.
- Scopus
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
Specific Databases
- AGRICOLACovers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionCovers articles, proceedings, and reports in agriculture, environmental science, and pollution management from 1960 to present, as well as Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage from 1930s to present.
- BuildingGreen
Provides sustainable design and construction information. Includes GreenSpec directory of green building products, case studies, and Environmental Building News
- CABI: CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides research information on agriculture, environment, leisure/tourism, and related applied life sciences. Search using CABI indexes including CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES, and subject descriptors. Coverage from 1910 to present.
- CABI Compendium Crop Protection
Scientific information on crop protection including pests, diseases, weeds and their natural enemies.
- NIFA Data Gateway
The Data Gateway enables users to find funding data, metrics, and information about research, education, and extension projects that have received grant awards from NIFA. In October 2024 will house all the project information formerly to be found on the Current Research Information System (CRIS) site.
- CABI Compendium Invasive SpeciesPeer-reviewed scientific information on all aspects of invasive species, both plant and animal. Includes: datasheets, maps, article abstracts and some full text articles.
- GROW : Plant Health ExchangeGrow is a nonprofit, freely available, online resource of timely, science-based information on plant health. Created as a place for plant health management professionals to exchange knowledge and discover the latest applied research.
- Turfgrass Information FileSelect materials related to turfgrass.
Finding Theses and Dissertations
- UTK Dissertations & Theses, TRACE
The digitized collection of dissertations and theses completed at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ University of Tennessee - KnoxvilleIncludes many UTK dissertations and theses from 1938 through 2006. Abstracts are available from 1980, full-text for most beginning in 1995. See Trace for more.