Essential Databases for Finding Articles
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
The most inclusive index for the field of nursing. Includes coverage of other allied health areas such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more. Unlimited users.
CINAHL Tutorial || Introduction - Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
The single most important database for biomedicine. PubMed Help || Tutorial - APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology. - R2 Digital LibraryE-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
- UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center. - Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities). Coverage is strongest for 1996 to present. Complements Web of Science. Considered to be stronger for Nursing than Web of Science. - Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Important multidisciplinary index for the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes cited reference searching and indicators for evaluating the impact of research. Video Tutorials
More Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- HIVinfo
Clinical trials, drugs, vaccine research, federally approved treatment guidelines, and related HIV information resources.
- Cochrane LibraryA unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. An important resource for evidence-based medicine. Cochrane systematic reviews are considered the gold standard.
- ComDisDome
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
- DailyMedProvides reliable information regarding marketed drugs in the U.S., and also serves as the official provider of FDA label information. Provided by the National Library of Medicine
- Health and Psychosocial InstrumentsAssists in the identification of measurement and evaluation instruments (questionnaires, checklists, tests, for example) found in the health and psychosocial literature. Does not include copies of the instruments. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
- Gale Health and WellnessIncludes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary; the Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health; and other resources for health news, health assessment, alternative medicine, and consumer health.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
Collection of U.S. policy documents, federal, state and municipal publications, journal articles, theses, and more on Homeland Security related news.
- MedlinePlusProvides consumer health information resources about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Online Access - 4 simultaneous users - MicromedexOutstanding clinical drug information resource. Other content areas include diseases, labs, toxicology, and patient education.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides an excellent introduction as well as in-depth information about research methods in the social and health sciences. Suitable for novices as well as seasoned researchers.
- Sociological AbstractsPrimary source of access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextCoverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines such as physical therapy
- MedOne ComSci
A collection of Thieme e-books containing images, videos, and cases in audiology and speech language pathology.