Quick Links
- Judith Anderson Herbert Writing CenterServes student writers in all disciplines of the UT academic community by offering free and individualized help throughout the writing process. Trained tutors read student writing and provide feedback in one-to-one conversations.
- Databases (for all areas)Browse the databases list for other related subject areas or by type such as citation indexes.
- E-JournalsTo find a specific article, look in OneSearch, or search by journal title. If UT doesn't subscribe to the journal, request the article from another library using UT's Interlibrary Loan.
- Google ScholarNarrows search results to more scholarly sources (as interpreted by Google). To take advantage of getting access to library subscriptions, be sure to set the Library Links under Settings to the University of Tennessee.
- Resource SharingObtain books, articles, and other materials you can't find on our campus.
- Article or Chapter Scan on DemandDon't have time to go to the library and copy articles you need? Library Express (LX) will scan print and microform materials and deliver as PDFs to your email account. All UTK faculty, students, and staff may use this service at no charge. Follow the link to find out how it works!
- T-Storage50GB of storage is "available to all Knoxville faculty, staff, and students."
Evidence-Based Nursing
- Evidence-Based NursingPublished quarterly, this journal selects "from the health related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. The clinical relevance and rigour of the studies is assessed to identify research that is relevant to nursing."
Guidelines & Summaries
- ECRI Guidelines TrustAlternate resource for the former National Guideline Clearinghouse. "This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies." Free to use, but registration is required.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)AHRQ's mission is "to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. The Agency fulfills this mission by conducting health care services research which examines how people get access to health care, how much care costs, and what happens as a result of the care they receive." Look in particular at the EPC Evidence Based Reports
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force"Conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services (such as screening, counseling, and preventive medications) and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems."
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Guidance (NICE)British clinical guidelines.
- SIGNEvidence based clinical practice guidelines developed by the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) for the National Health Service (NHS) in Scotland.
Databases
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
Like PubMed, CINAHL offers a clinical queries option as one of the ways to limit a search to particular types of studies. - Cochrane LibraryCochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based clinical information databases for healthcare providers.
- ComDisDome
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
- Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Try PubMed's Clinical Queries to filter for systematic reviews and specific clinical study categories. - UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center.
- Best Evidence for Nursing+From McMaster University. A searchable database that "identifies studies and systematic reviews that are scientifically strong; articles that meet scientific criteria are then rated by frontline clinicians for relevance and newsworthiness." Free registration required.
- TripSearches across multiple sources of best evidence.
- SUMSearchSearches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from multiple sources.
- National Quality Measures ClearinghouseA database and web site for information on specific evidence-based health care quality measures and measure sets.
- PROSPEROInternational prospective register of systematic reviews. "Valuable resource for identifying on-going reviews to help avoid unplanned duplication."
- R2 Digital LibraryE-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
- MedOne ComSci
A collection of Thieme e-books containing images, videos, and cases in audiology and speech language pathology.
Need Help?
Email hslibs@utk.edu for assistance!
UT Libraries' Health, Wellness, and Professional Programs Department is here to help you while Niki is away.
Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Library• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (gold standard of systematic reviews)
• Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE—non-Cochrane systematic reviews that have been quality assessed)
3D Anatomy Tools *NEW*
-
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Includes 3D models of anatomical structures and systems, physiology animations, pathology visualizations, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more.
AccessMedicine Human Anatomy Modules
- AccessMedicine provides interactive, 3D human anatomy models that include both female and male anatomy models as well as a collection of interactive tutorials under Study Tools.