Southeastern Native American Tribes (Special Collections): Home

The land upon which the University of Tennessee-Knoxville is built is part of the traditional territory of the Tsalagi peoples (now Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma, and United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians), Tsoyahá peoples (Yuchi, Muscogee Creek), and Shawnee peoples.

This research guide identifies Special Collections materials related to Cherokee, Chocktaw, Creek, Seminole, and Chickasaw Native Americans from 1782 to 2011.

Use the following terms to locate materials related to the Southeastern Native American Tribes. Although some of the below keywords may be offensive, outdated, and no longer used in archival practice, the unfortunate historic usage of specific terms can help researchers to identify contemporaneous materials from that era. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

American Indian history : a documentary reader. edited by Camilla Townsend (E77.A4963 2009)  Includes primary documents with translations, introductions, and suggestions for further research.

American Indian places : a historical guidebook. Frances H. Kennedy (E77.9 .A44 2008) Section 2 is about Southeastern tribes.

American Indian sovereignty and law : an annotated bibliography. edited by Wade Davies, Richmond L. Clow. (KF8201 .A1A44 2009) Lists books and articles on treaties, reservations, tribal courts, discrimination, economic development, and many other topics.

Beadwork storytellers, a visual language. Barbara R. Duncan (TT860 .D86 2008) Includes photos and information.

Documents of Native American political development : 1500s to 1933. edited by David E. Wilkins (E98 .T77 D63 2009) Primary sources for many Native American tribes.

A Native American encyclopedia : history, culture, and peoples. Barry M. Pritzker (E76.2 .P75 2000) Chapter 7 covers many aspects of Southeastern tribes in brief articles.

The Trail of Tears : an annotated bibliography of Southeastern Indian removal. Herman A. Peterson (E98 .R4P48 2011)  Lists books and articles, divided by nation, with a chapter on government documents.