Local Musical Theatre Auditions
- Clarence Brown TheatreThe Clarence Brown Theatre is a LORT D professional company housed on the University of Tennessee, Knoxville's campus. It produces a full season of plays and musicals each year, and auditions are usually in early fall.
- Flying Anvil TheatreThe Flying Anvil Theatre is located in the Rocky Hill area of Knoxville, producing professional theatre in its contemporary performance space. Auditions are on a rolling basis per performance.
- Oak Ridge PlayhouseThe Oak Ridge Playhouse is the official state community theatre of Tennessee. It has produced plays, musicals, and children's works since 1943. Auditions are on a rolling basis for each production.
- River & Rail Theatre Co.River & Rail Theatre Co. is located in the heart of Downtown Knoxville. Auditions are on a rolling basis per performance.
- The Word PlayersThe Word Players is a religious theatre organization that produces plays, musicals, and staged readings. Auditions are on a rolling basis per performance.
Aud Mat
Browsing the shelves
If you aren't quite sure what you're looking for, you can browse the shelves in the music library until something catches your eye. The George F. DeVine Music Library uses the Library of Congress call number system for its scores and vocal selections. You can find musical theatre related materials in the following areas (remember to filter by "Score"):
M 1503 Vocal scores of operas, operettas, or musicals
M 1507 Anthologies of vocal music, including musical theatre anthologies
M 1508 Vocal selections of a single musical (may be transposed)
Librettos of musicals can be found in the ML section of the library, using call numbers between ML47-54.8.
ML 50 Musical librettos
New Acquisitions
Self-Tape and Audition Resources
The Versatile Vocalist by
The book discusses the musical considerations, vocal production, and kinesthetic feedback inherent to performing persuasively in a variety of styles and idioms, with observations of professional vocalists, instrumentalists, and voice teachers who have successfully crossed over into contrasting idioms.
Call Number: MT820.L43 2006ISBN: 0810857413Publication Date: 2006-07-27
The Recording, Mixing, and Mastering Reference Handbook by
The Recording, Mixing, and Mastering Reference Handbook provides an easy-to-read guide for music-making in the studio setting, from equipment fundamentals to recording and mixing almost any instrument. In six sections, lessons give a comprehensive introduction to microphone settings andtechniques, audio processing and effects, controlling acoustics, and history lessons on songs recorded with a given technique. The second half of the handbook delves into background theory on microphones, EQ-filters, compressors, and acoustics to give the reader a general understanding of practicalrecording techniques before acquiring deeper comprehension of the tools and the recording processes.Throughout the chapters, lessons on recording methods gradually build complexity and detail to keep readers engaged and challenged. Whether a university student in an audio recording course, a novice audio engineer who needs to build technique, or a busy professional who requires a quick refresh onspecific techniques, any reader will find an essential resource in The Recording, Mixing, and Mastering Reference Handbook.
Call Number: ML3790.P407 2019ISBN: 9780190686635Publication Date: 2019-01-03
The Audio Recording Handbook by Call Number: TK7881.K44 2001ISBN: 0895794624Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Acting for the Camera by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781003048671Publication Date: 2021-05-30See Part Four: Self-Tape Like a Pro
- OPERA America: Recording Resources for Virtual AuditionsDeveloped by members of the Performer Development Forum, this resource guide of robust, well-researched information for virtual auditions is designed for industry-wide use by both artists and companies. Includes remote audition guidelines as well as recording gear recommendations.
See the guides below for information on renting audio and recording equipment from the music library and from Hodges Commons South:
Auditioning for Musical Theatre by
Auditioning for Musical Theatre demystifies the process of giving the best possible professional audition for a role in a musical. It is the result of Denny Berry's own experience, sitting "behind the audition desk" for 30 years of professional Broadway auditions, as well as teaching newcomers and coaching established actors. The book coaches performers on how to be their best selves--and avoid the pitfalls of nerves and poor preparation. To do so, it offers: An in-depth, practical approach to a professional audition that gives readers detailed suggestions about how to identify their vocal strengths, choose the material most suited to it, and present the entirety of their "product" with confidence. Rules to guide the actor through the audition process, along with sample homework assignments. A comprehensive list of musical material, genres, and commonly-referred-to categories of songs designed to help auditioners select the right material for any given audition. The book is intended for the talented newcomer as well as the experienced actor who wants to deliver a more effective audition. Ultimately, Auditioning for Musical Theatre takes the reader through the parts of auditioning that they can control, and helps them tailor every situation to show their individual best.
Call Number: MT956.B47 2019ISBN: 9781138350304Publication Date: 2018-12-13
Get the Callback: the art of auditioning for musical theatre by
All great auditions require preparation and practice, but what's the secret to securing a callback? What are the best ways to prepare for that pivotal moment? And once you're in front of the casting director, what does it take to make the most out of your moment in the spotlight? In this second edition of Get the Callback: The Art of Auditioning for Musical Theatre, Jonathan Flom provides practical advice on the many facets of preparation, including selection of songs and monologues to suit your voice and the audition, organizing and arranging your music, working with the accompanist, and presenting yourself to the casting team. The book gives a detailed description of the actual audition performance and even offers advice on how non-dancers can survive a dance audition. In addition to extensively revised chapters on the audition process and how to build a repertoire book, this guide also features updated chapters on headshots, resumes, and cover letters; voice training techniques from Matthew Edward; advice from musical director Joey Chancey; and a foreword by casting director Joy Dewing. Aimed at professionals as well as young artists, this second edition of Get the Callback is a must-have for both seasoned and aspiring musical theatre performers.
Call Number: MT956.F56 2016ISBN: 9781442266599Publication Date: 2016-05-04
The Audition Process: anxiety management and coping strategies by
The stress and anxiety which performers experience at auditions and concerts can be managed through the use of many and varied techniques, here explored in a comprehensive book by oboist-composer Stuart Dunkel. Written as a pract ical guide for immediate use, in language free of confusing psychological terminology, The Audition Process offers a compendium of approaches as presented by other musicians, psychologists, and athletes.
Call Number: ML380.D9 1989ISBN: 9780945193029Publication Date: 1990-11-15
Managing Stage Fright: a guide for musicians and music teachers by
Why is it that well-prepared, talented, hardworking, and intelligent performers find their performance and self-esteem undermined by the fear of memory slips, technique failures, and public humiliation? In Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers, author Julie Jaffee Nagel unravels these mysteries, taking the reader on an intensive backstage tour of the anxious performer's emotions to explain why stage fright happens and what performers can do to increase their comfort in the glare of the spotlight. Examining the topic from her interdisciplinary educational, theoretical, clinical, and personal perspectives, Nagel uses the music teacher/student relationship as a model for understanding the performance anxiety that affects musicians and non-musicians alike. Shedding new light on how the performer's emotional life is connected to every other facet of their life, Managing Stage Fright encourages a deeper understanding of anxiety when performing. The guide offers strategies for achieving performance confidence, emphasizing the relevance of mental health in teaching and performing. Through the practices of self-awareness outlined in the book, Nagel demonstrates that it is possible and desirable for teachers to assist students in developing the coping skills and attitudes that will allow them to not feel overwhelmed and powerless when they experience strong anxiety. Each chapter contains insights that help teachers recognize the symptoms - obvious, subtle, and puzzling - of the emotional grip of stage fright, while offering practical guidelines that empower teachers to empower their students. The psychological concepts offered, when added to pedagogical techniques, are invaluable in music performance and in a variety of life situations since, after all, music lessons are life lessons.
Call Number: ML3830.N333 2017ISBN: 9780190632038Publication Date: 2017-11-30
The Broadway Song: A singer's guide by
Truly powerful vocal performance in musical theater is more than just the sum of good vocal tone and correct notes. As experienced teacher, director, and performer Mark Ross Clark lays out in The Broadway Song, powerful performance communicates the central function of a song within the context of the surrounding narrative, or the "truth" of a song. Because unstaged performances of a song, such as auditions, are key to the success of all aspiring singers, Clark provides here the essential practical manual that will help performers choose the right pieces for their vocal abilities and identify the key truths of them. Clark begins by walking readers conceptually through how a song's truth is based in contexts: what show is a song from? Which character sings it? When in the show does it occur? Answering these questions will lead readers to more convincing performances that are grounded in the text, music, character, context, and larger environment (setting, time frame, and circumstances). The Broadway Song provides a comprehensive guide to the formal characteristics of key Broadway songs on a song-by-song basis, including main voice type, secondary voice qualities (such as soprano-lyric or alto-comic), range and tessitura, as well as larger contextual materials about the source -- from the musical's background, information about the character singing, and synoptic narrative information for the song -- that provide the performer a way into the character. Clark moreover brings his wide-ranging and extensive experience as a director, performer, and teacher to bear in his performance notes on the individual pieces. Additionally, he includes excerpts from short interviews with artists that provide insight into the song from the perspective of those who first created (or re-created) it. The interviews, conducted with composers, lyricists, performers, and -- in one case -- book collaborators, are snapshots into the creative process, and act as conduits to further study of the selected songs.
Call Number: MT956.C63 2015ISBN: 9780199351688Publication Date: 2015-03-30
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology: 16-Bar Audition by Call Number: M1507.S58 2010A collection of "16-bar" audition cuts. Soprano.
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology: 16-Bar Audition by Call Number: M1507.S583 2010A collection of "16-bar" audition cuts. Mezzo-soprano/belter.
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology: 16-Bar Audition by Call Number: MT1507.S585 2010A collection of "16-bar" audition cuts. Tenor.
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology: 16-Bar Audition by Call Number: MT1507.S5872 2010A collection of "16-bar" audition cuts. Baritone/bass.
Alfred's Singer's Library of Musical Theatre by Call Number: M1507.A44 2007ISBN: 0739044729Publication Date: 2007-10-01
