The Musical Theater Subject Guide is designed for use by music and theater faculty and students. Through this guide, users may explore the many online and physical resources offered by the George F DeVine Music Library related to the study and performance of musical theater. Links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
This LibGuide is overseen by Nathalie Hristov, Music Librarian, and maintained by Ethan Graham Roeder, Music Library Evening Supervisor.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised February 2021, Nathalie Hristov
Professor & Music Librarian
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center G04 (ground floor)
(865) 974-9893
New Acquisitions
- Red, Hot and Blue Vocal Selections byCall Number: M1508.P67 R4 1936
- 110 In The Shade Vocal Selections byCall Number: M1508.S355 A614 1965
- The Fantasticks Vocal Selections byCall Number: M1508.S365 F2 1963
- Song of Norway Vocal Selections byCall Number: M1508.W75 S6 1970
Databases and Indexes
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseIndexing and abstracts of international performing arts periodicals with some full-text. Covers all aspects of the arts and entertainment industry. Coverage from 1864 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- FirstSearch
Search millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
- IPA SourceIPA Source is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- UT Song IndexThis database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee, located in Knoxville.
- Internet Broadway DatabaseIBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Journals
- American MusicCall Number: ML1 .A54
- Choral JournalCall Number: ML1.C46
- Classical SingerCall Number: ML3795.N43
- Journal of SingingCall Number: ML27.U5 N2652
- Opera CanadaCall Number: ML5.O664
- Opera JournalCall Number: ML1.O74
- Opera NewsCall Number: ML1.O6
- Opera QuarterlyCall Number: ML1699.O65
- Theatre JournalCall Number: PN3171.E38
Suggested Links
- Actor's Equity AssociationThe AEA is a labor union representing American actors and stage managers.
- American Choral Directors AssociationFounded in 1959, the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) is a nonprofit music-education organization whose central purpose is to promote excellence in choral music through performance, composition, publication, research, and teaching. In addition, ACDA strives through arts advocacy to elevate choral music's position in American society.
- American Federation of MusiciansAFM is the largest organization in the world representing the interests of professional musicians.
- American Guild of Musical ArtistsAGMA is a labor organization that represents the men and women who create America’s operatic, choral and dance heritage.
- BroadwayWorld DatabaseThe BroadwayWorld International Theatre Database covers shows and performers in Broadway, Off-Broadway, regional, and international theatre productions.
- Lortel Archives Internet Off-Broadway DatabaseThe Internet Off-Broadway Database, also formerly known as the Lortel Archives, is an online database that catalogues theatre productions shown off-Broadway.
- MAESTRAMAESTRA provides support, visibility, and community to the women and nonbinary people who make the music in the musical theater industry.
- Music Teachers National AssociationThe mission of Music Teachers National Association is to advance the value of music study and music making to society and to support the professionalism of music teachers.
- Music Theatre InternationalMTI is the major theatrical licensing company for musical theater works.
- Playbill VaultThe Playbill Vault is a digitized records of all Playbills published for Broadway shows from 1947 to present.
- Vanderbilt's Bill Wilkerson CenterThe Vanderbilt Bill Wilkerson Center for Otolaryngology and Communication Sciences is dedicated to serving persons with diseases of the ear, nose, throat, head and neck, and hearing, speech, language and related disorders.
- VOCALIST WorldwideVOCALIST is an international mailing list for singers and singing teachers.
- Voice FoundationThe Voice Foundation is the world's oldest and leading organization dedicated to voice medicine, science, and education.
- Voice Problem WebsiteVoiceproblem.org is brought to you by The Watergate Voice Foundation, a non-profit educational foundation funded through private sources. The Foundation's entire purpose is to support patients with voice disorders as they seek healing for the more complex, more intractable voice problems.