What's in this Guide?
This research guide identifies Special collections materials related to science, religion, art, and travel during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
General Resources to Get Started
Special Collections owns four extensive collections of facsimiles, in addition to many individual volumes in either facsimile or primary form.
Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile are mostly ecclesiastical works, but not entirely.
For excellent descriptions of the volumes in our collections, see these external websites:
- Henry Bradshaw SocietyThis website gives good descriptions of each volume edited by the Society. They are mostly rare liturgical texts.
- Parker Society for Fathers and Early Writers of English Reformed ChurchThis link goes to an article describing each volume of these important documents leading to the Church of England. Volume 55 is the index.
- The Hakluyt Society TraveloguesThere are many series within this collection, and many volumes within each series. This link describes each volume more extensively than our catalog does.
Some Helpful Definitions
ambo - a pulpit from which the Bible was read
cartulary - a register listing all of the deeds, or charters, of a monastery or estate
codicology - the study of manuscripts
ecclesiastical - relating to churches
facsimile - an exact copy of a book or manuscript
illuminated manuscript - a book with brightly colored illustrations, highlighted with gold or silver
liturgical - referring to public worship
manuscript - a book created or reproduced by hand
paleography - the study of ancient handwriting
parchment - a writing surface made from animal skin, like vellum
schemata - a diagram or sketch showing details
travelogue - a record of travels, or information about traveling
vellum - a writing surface made from animal skin, like parchment
Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.