Skip to main content

Medieval and Renaissance (Special Collections): Home

This guide contains resources about science, religion, arts, and travel in the Middle Ages.

Getting Started: Special Collections

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to medieval and Renaissance studies.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

General Resources to Get Started

Special Collections owns four extensive collections of facsimiles, in addition to many individual volumes in either facsimile or primary form.

Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile are mostly ecclesiastical works, but not entirely.

For excellent descriptions of the volumes in our collections, see these external websites:

Some Helpful Definitions

ambo - a pulpit from which the Bible was read

cartulary - a register listing all of the deeds, or charters, of a monastery or estate

codicology - the study of manuscripts

ecclesiastical - relating to churches

facsimile - an exact copy of a book or manuscript

illuminated manuscript - a book with brightly colored illustrations, highlighted with gold or silver

liturgical - referring to public worship

manuscript - a book created or reproduced by hand

paleography - the study of ancient handwriting

parchment - a writing surface made from animal skin, like vellum

schemata - a diagram or sketch showing details

travelogue - a record of travels, or information about traveling

vellum - a writing surface made from animal skin, like parchment

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website