It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Humanities: Tools & Software
An introductory guide to the wide world of the Digital Humanities for the University of Tennessee Libraries community.
Setting up an environment for digital humanities computational work can be time-consuming and difficult. DHbox addresses this problem by streamlining installation processes and providing a digital humanities laboratory in the cloud through simple sign-in via a web browser.
Drupal is an open source content management platform powering millions of websites and applications. It’s built, used, and supported by an active and diverse community of people around the world but does require significant set-up and skills.
Stack Exchange is a network of question and answer Web sites on topics in varied fields, each site covering a specific topic, where questions, answers, and users are subject to a reputation award process.
A clearinghouse for fair use information, including well-researched and industry-endorsed Best Practices guides for Documentary & Web Videos, as well as teaching materials, FAQs, and more. Developed by American University.
1- Discover text manipulation, analysis, and visualization tools
2- Discover historic tools
3- Read tool reviews and recommendations
4- Learn about papers, articles and other sources about specific tools
5- Tag, comment, rate and review collaboratively
The DiRT Directory is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT makes it easy for digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mindmapping software.
Gephi is a tool for data analysts and scientists keen to explore and understand graphs. Like Photoshop™ but for graph data, the user interacts with the representation, manipulate the structures, shapes and colors to reveal hidden patterns.
Prefuse is a set of software tools for creating rich interactive data visualizations. The original prefuse toolkit provides a visualization framework for the Java programming language. The Prefuse Flare toolkit provides visualization and animation tools for ActionScript and the Adobe Flash Player.
An Open Source project based at Tufts University. The VUE project is focused on creating flexible tools for managing and integrating digital resources in support of teaching, learning and research. VUE provides a flexible visual environment for structuring, presenting, and sharing digital information.
1- use texts in a variety of formats including plain text, HTML, XML, PDF, RTF and MS Word
2- use texts from different locations, including URLs and uploaded files
3- perform lexical analysis including the study of frequency and distribution data; in particular
4- export data into other tools (as XML, tab separated values, etc.)
5- embed live tools into remote web sites that can accompany or complement your own content
Walrus is a tool for interactively visualizing large directed graphs in three-dimensional space. By employing a fisheye-like distortion, it provides a display that simultaneously shows local detail and the global context.
This site, full of links, resources, best practices, and recommendations for oral histories in the digital age is a product of an Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) National Leadership project and a collaboration among the Michigan State University Museum; Michigan State University Digital Humanities Center, Matrix; the American Folklife Center (AFC/LOC), the Library of Congress; the Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage (CFCH); the American Folklore Society (AFS); the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, University of Kentucky Libraries; and the Oral History Association.
This book intended for scholars, librarians, museum and archive professionals, and others with a humanistic background who want to build robust digital projects using the open source content management system Drupal. The first book in the new Coding for Humanists series, which provides an introduction to technologies applicable to digital humanities scholarship, without assuming the reader has prior technical background. Contains a nice comparison of Drupal to other web options, such as Omeka, Wordpress, TEI, etc.
UTK students, staff, and faculty may click the link to learn how to obtain ESRI's ArcGIS software suite for your computer.
Students needing a copy of ArcGIS and Extensions, Student Edition should contact the OIT HelpDesk at 974-9900. Please provide your name and UTK email address and specify the ESRI software version you want when calling. You will be emailed instructions about how to acquire a One-Year Education Use Only copy of ArcGIS.
Faculty and staff needing GIS software and technical support can go here.
StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. It is a new tool, yet stable in a development environment, and it has a friendly authoring tool from the Knight Lab.
The International Transport Forum Transport Explorer is an interactive tool that allows users to analyse transport data using an animated graphical or spatial interface. Users can view how indicators evolve over time and examine interrelations between indicators. Users can select colours for indicators in map and scatter plot view and create their own "stories" with animated graphs.
The Transport Explorer includes all annual International Transport Forum Statistics from 1970 until today. The ITF Transport Explorer is based on technology developed in cooperation between the OECD and the National Centre for Visual Analytics at Linköping University, Sweden.
The British Library (BL) has released over one million images from 17th, 18th, and 19th century books on Flickr. Equally important, the images and metadata have been released into the public domain.
Although the images and data are available for use and reuse without restriction, BL is following an increasingly common trend among GLAM institutions where attribution is requested (rather than required).
The LOC Flickr collection offers sets of digitized photos: the 1,600 color images from the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information, 1,500+ images from the George Grantham Bain News Service, selected panoramic photographs, portraits of jazz musicians and personalities, and other photos from the Library of Congress collections that possess these qualities: they have long been popular with visitors to the Library; they have no known restrictions on publication or distribution, and they have high resolution scans.
The Commons has a variety of equipment available for UT students from laptops & scanners to digital audio recorders & camcorders and everything in between. Most of the Commons Equipment is purchased using Student Technology Fees so only students of the University can check out items.
***Bring your UT ID to the Equipment Desk in the Commons South at Hodges Library to checkout equipment.***
Divvy up work, hash things out quickly, make big announcements, keep discussions on-topic, store and organize key files and assets, lay out milestones and deadlines, and have regular check-ins to make sure everything’s all right in Basecamp. And it's free for teachers!
GitHub fosters a fast, flexible, and collaborative development process that lets you work on your own or with others. It is often used by software developers to document and manage their agile workflow.