Selected DH Books at UT Libraries
A Companion to Digital Humanities by
This Companion offers a thorough, concise overview of the emerging field of humanities computing. Contains 37 original articles written by leaders in the field. Addresses the central concerns shared by those interested in the subject. Major sections focus on the experience of particular disciplines in applying computational methods to research problems; the basic principles of humanities computing; specific applications and methods; and production, dissemination and archiving.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks AZ105 .C588 2004
Creating Digital Literacy Spaces for Multilingual Writers by
This book argues for the value of digital literacy in the multilingual writing classroom. Against the background of huge changes in literacy practices prompted by online communication, and a growing acceptance of a broader definition of academic literacy that encompasses multimodality, the book examines the relationship between digital and print literacies and addresses the design of literacy spaces for multilingual classrooms.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks P53.27 .B58 2021
Postcolonial Digital Humanities in Theory, Praxis, and Pedagogy : Postcolonial Digital Humanities in Theory, Praxis, and Pedagogy by
The emergence of digital humanities has been heralded for its commitment to openness, access, and the democratizing of knowledge, but it raises a number of questions about omissions with respect to race, gender, sexuality, disability, and nation. Postcolonial digital humanities is one approach to uncovering and remedying inequalities in digital knowledge production, which is implicated in an information-age politics of knowledge. New Digital Worlds traces the formation of postcolonial studies and digital humanities as fields, identifying how they can intervene in knowledge production in the digital age. Roopika Risam examines the role of colonial violence in the development of digital archives and the possibilities of postcolonial digital archives for resisting this violence. Offering a reading of the colonialist dimensions of global organizations for digital humanities research, she explores efforts to decenter these institutions by emphasizing the local practices that subtend global formations and pedagogical approaches that support this decentering. Last, Risam attends to human futures in new digital worlds, evaluating both how algorithms and natural language processing software used in digital humanities projects produce universalist notions of the "human" and also how to resist this phenomenon.
ISBN: 9780810138865Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Global Debates in the Digital Humanities by ISBN: 9781517913267Publication Date: 2022-04-12
Debates in the Digital Humanities 2019 by
Brings together a broad array of important, thought-provoking perspectives on the field's many sides. With a wide range of subjects including gender-based assumptions made by algorithms, the place of the digital humanities within art history, data-based methods for exhuming forgotten histories, video games, three-dimensional printing, and decolonial work, this book assembles a who's who of the field in more than thirty impactful essays.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks AZ182 .D44 2019
Debates in the Digital Humanities 2016 by
Reveals a dynamic view of a field in negotiation with its identity, methods, and reach. Pieces in the book explore how DH can and must change in response to social justice movements and events like #Ferguson; how DH alters and is altered by community college classrooms; and how scholars applying DH approaches to feminist studies, queer studies, and black studies might reframe the commitments of DH analysts.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks AZ182 .D44 2016
Debates in the Digital Humanities by
Brings together leading figures in the DH field to explore theories, methods, and practices and to clarify its multiple possibilities and tensions. From defining what a digital humanist is and determining whether the field has (or needs) theoretical grounding, to discussions of coding as scholarship and trends in data-driven research, this cutting-edge volume delineates the current state of the digital humanities and envisions potential futures and challenges.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks AZ182 .D44 2012
Digital Methods in the Humanities: Challenges, Ideas, Perspectives by
This volume offers a unique perspective on digital methods for and in the humanities. It comprises case studies from various fields to illustrate the challenge of matching existing textual research practices and digital tools.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks AZ195 .D556 2021
Reconceptualizing the Digital Humanities in Asia: New Representations of Art, History and Culture by
This book examines new forms of representation that have changed our perception and interpretation of the humanities in an Asian, and digital, context. In analyzing written and visual texts, such as the use of digital technology and animation in different works of art originating from Asia, the authors demonstrate how literature, history, and culture are being redefined in spatialized relations amid the trend of digitization.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks AZ188.A78 R43 2020
Special Topics in DH
Technology and the Historian by ISBN: 9780252043710Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Book, Text, Medium: Cross-Sectional Reading for a Digital Age by
Utilizes codex history, close reading, and language philosophy to assess the transformative arc between medieval books and today's e-books. It examines what happens to the reading experience in the twenty-first century when the original concept of a book is still held in the mind of a reader, if no longer in the reader's hand.
Publication Date: 2021
Breaking the Book: Print Humanities in the Digital Age by
A manifesto on the cognitive consequences and emotional effects of human interactions with physical books that reveals why the traditional humanities disciplines are resistant to digital humanities. Predicts effects of the digital revolution on disciplinarity, expertise, and the institutional restructuring of the humanities.
Publication Date: 2015
Alternative Historiographies of the Digital Humanities by ISBN: 9781953035578Publication Date: 2021-06-24
New Media Spectacles and Multimodal Creativity in a Globalised Asia by
This edited volume aims to unpack the digitisation of art and media within the dynamics of participatory culture, and how these changes affect the power relations between the production and consumption of these new forms in a globalised Asia.
Publication Date: 2020
Raw Data is an Oxymoron by
Episodes in the history of data, from early modern math problems to today's inescapable "dataveillance," that demonstrate the dependence of data on culture. We live in the era of Big Data, with storage and transmission capacity measured not just in terabytes but in petabytes (where peta- denotes a quadrillion, or a thousand trillion). Data collection is constant and even insidious, with every click and every "like" stored somewhere for something. This book reminds us that data is anything but "raw," that we shouldn't think of data as a natural resource but as a cultural one that needs to be generated, protected, and interpreted. The book's essays describe eight episodes in the history of data from the predigital to the digital. Together they address such issues as the ways that different kinds of data and different domains of inquiry are mutually defining; how data are variously "cooked" in the processes of their collection and use; and conflicts over what can--or can't--be "reduced" to data. Contributors discuss the intellectual history of data as a concept; describe early financial modeling and some unusual sources for astronomical data; discover the prehistory of the database in newspaper clippings and index cards; and consider contemporary "dataveillance" of our online habits as well as the complexity of scientific data curation.
ISBN: 9780262312325Publication Date: 2013-01-25
Quick Hits for Teaching with Digital Humanities by
Successful Strategies from Award-Winning Teachers is an edited collection of 24 articles that aims to introduce faculty, administrators, and staff to ways in which digital techniques from the arts, humanities, and social sciences can be incorporated in the classroom. These techniques can enhance learning and professional development experiences for undergraduate and graduate students and faculty alike. Illustrates the breadth of digital humanities across the disciplines.
Publication Date: 2020
Routledge International Handbook of Research Methods in Digital Humanities by
This book draws on both traditional and emerging fields of study to consider consider what a grounded definition of quantitative and qualitative research in the Digital Humanities (DH) might mean; which areas DH can fruitfully draw on in order to foster and develop that understanding; where we can see those methods applied; and what the future directions of research methods in Digital Humanities might look like.
Publication Date: 2020
Towards a Digital Epistemology: Aesthetics and Modes of Thought in Early Modernity and the Present Age by
Explores the concept of digital epistemology. In this context, the digital will not be understood as merely something that is linked to specific tools and objects, but rather as different modes of thought.
Publication Date: 2020
Open E-Book Collections
- Directory of Open Access BooksA continuously updated collection of academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers.
- Google BooksFull and partial images of thousands of books and periodicals digitized by Google. To limit results to full-text, use the advanced book search and click on "full-view only." Particularly good resource for finding the complete text of older books and periodicals.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. To login, click on the LOG IN button. Select University of Tennessee, Knoxville from the drop-down list and log in with your NetID/password.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free e-books from books in the public domain: choose among free e-pub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.