Digital Humanities is...
All the ways that the humanities and digital technologies intersect.
Let’s be honest—there is no definition of digital humanities, if by definition we mean a consistent set of theoretical concerns and research methods that might be aligned with a given discipline, whether one of the established fields or an emerging, transdisciplinary one.
More on Defining the Digital Humanities
- What is Digital Humanities?Refresh this webpage to get a new definition each time. Quotes were pulled from participants from the Day of DH between 2009-2012. As of December 2012, the database contains over 500 rows and randomly selects a quote each time the page is loaded.
- Day of DH: Defining the Digital HumanitiesCompilation of definitions of Digital Humanities by leading voices in the field.
Day of DH is also a yearly event in which DH practitioners showcase their work on social media using hashtags. - Introducción a las Humanidades DigitalesOverview of the field from an international perspective contrasting how DH is understood in different national and linguistic contexts. (In Spanish)
A Companion to Digital Humanities by Call Number: AZ 105 .C588 2004ISBN: 1405103213Publication Date: 2004-12-27One of the foundational collections of introductory texts on Digital Humanities. The articles summarize the history, principles, applications, and scholarly communications of Digital Humanities during a pivotal time in the defining of the field.
- Defining Digital Humanities: A ReaderThis reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Great for scholars and students who want to discover the history of Digital Humanities through its core writings, and for those who wish to understand the many possibilities that exist when trying to define DH.
- A 3-Step Introduction to Digital Humanities for Library-DwellersA blog post for Hack Library School that quickly defines what Digital Humanities is/are and the issues DH raises for libraries and librarians.
- Digital Humanities FlipBoardAn 884-article (and counting) visual flipboard of DH projects. Take a peek to see the wide world of DH.
Tools for Incoporating Digital Humanities Into the Classroom
- Introduction to Digital Humanities Course Book - Concepts, Methods, and Tutorials for Students and InstructorsBased on the Introduction to Digital Humanities (DH101) course at UCLA, taught by Johanna Drucker (with David Kim, Iman Salehian, and Anthony Bushong) in 2011 and 2012, this online coursebook (and related collection of resources) is meant to provide introductory materials to digital approaches relevant to a wide range of disciplines. The lessons and tutorials assume no prior knowledge or experience and are meant to introduce fundamental skills and critical issues in digital humanities.
- Digital Pedagogy (from MLA)An edited repository of scholarly materials for Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities: Concepts, Models, and Experiments (under contract with the Modern Language Association).
- HASTAC Pedagogy ProjectOffers more than 80 concrete examples for how to incorporate digital scholarship in the classroom and syllabi. Users can also share their experiences with the materials, submit their own projects, and participate in HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory).
- Find Open Educational Resources (OER) Teaching ToolsReusing existing Open Educational Resources (OER) can save significant time and effort. This page of links will help you find openly licensed media elements to use within your courses as well as openly accessible teaching plans and materials.
- Wikiversity Digital Humanities SyllabiCollection of syllabi from real university courses focusing on different areas of digital humanities that range from the introductory to more advanced topics in DH.
- Learning Through Digital MediaThis publication is the product of a collaboration that started in the fall of 2010 when a total of eighty New School faculty, librarians, students and staff came together to think about teaching and learning with digital media. These conversations inspired this collection of essays, which will be disseminated as printed book, free book for various eReaders and a media-rich website where essays will be added and removed over time.
- Mobile Media Learning: Innovation & Inspiration (eBook)A collection of different stories and experiences that educators have had with mobile media learning. The book discusses the great results obtained by this type of innovation in education, and the process of creating the experiences: management, technology, challenges, goals and next steps to take.
- Teachinghistory.orgFree access to primary sources and high-quality online teaching modules with instruction on critical thinking skills from the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media.
- Teaching MediaAn excellent compilation of teaching resources, including syllabi, assignment, and readings. Self-described as "where media scholars share resources and ideas for the undergraduate classroom."
- Zotero - DH SyllabiExamines different approaches to digital humanities education. Includes syllabi and curriculum planning documents, as well as as articles about open education, networked pedagogies, and more. Members are encouraged to help build the collection.
Essential Resources
- Programming Historian
Wide selection of peer-reviewed lessons on free, open-source digital tools and methods applied to a broad range of disciplines. Resources are available in four different languages and all skill levels. - CUNY Digital Humanities Resource GuideAn online guide to all things DH, including tools, forums, conferences, and more.
- Miriam Posner's BlogMiriam Posner coordinates and teaches in the Digital Humanities program at the University of California, Los Angeles.
- Digital Humanities NowDigital Humanities Now showcases the scholarship and news of interest to the digital humanities community through a process of aggregation, discovery, curation, and review.
- Getting Started in the Digital HumanitiesLisa Spiro's blog on Digital Humanities. Lisa is a consultant and researcher focused on digital humanities, digital pedagogy, and scholarly communications technologies.
- Introductory Readings in the Digital HumanitiesA selection of recommended readings, compiled in August 2012, for those getting started in DH.
- Stanford's Tooling Up for the Digital HumanitiesA good place for students, scholars, and LIS professionals who want to explore the possibilities for digital tools, programs, and methods to empower and enhance their scholarship in the humanities.
Some Blogs to Follow
- dh + libWhere Digital Humanities and Libraries meet.
- Jim McGrath BlogPublic humanities focused blog
- University College of London BlogBlog focusing on digital scholarship advances in University of College, London.
- Quinn Dombrowski's BlogQuinn Dombrowski is the Academic Technology Specialist in the Division of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages, and in the Library, at Stanford University. The blog contains information on a wide-array of topics and processes in Digital Humanities in accessible language
- Kathleen FitzpatrickKathleen Fitzpatrick is the Director of Digital Humanities and Professor of English at Michigan State University
- Ian Bogost's BlogGaming theory, criticism, and design.
- Dan Cohen's BlogBlog of the Executive Director of the Digital Public Library of America.
- Amanda L. French's BlogExplores how fields of literature, history and philosophy can be impacted by computers and the Internet; blog of Research Assistant Professor and THATCamp Coordinator at the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University,
- Simon Tanner's BlogStrategist, thinker & consultant in how the digital domain relates to library, museum, archiving & media digital strategies.
- Scott Weingart's BlogBlog of DH PhD student Scott Weingart, which also includes an excellent curated list of DH syllabi geared towards the computational and ‘making’ aspects of DH.