Research Guides: Digital Humanities: Text Analysis

Text Corpora

Google N-Grams Viewer
Designed by Google which allows a user to plot the use of words over time in approx. 5 million books.
more...less...
You can select sets of curated works: "American English," "British English," "English," "Chinese (simplified)," "English Fiction," "French," "German," "Hebrew," "Russian," and "Spanish."
Culturomics
Explore Cultural Trends @ Google Books Ngram Viewer
more...less...
Type in a word or phrase in one of seven languages (English, French, German, Spanish, Hebrew, Russian, Chinese) and see how its usage frequency has been changing throughout the past few centuries. Addictive.
Note: the dataset's quality is highest for English between 1800 and 2000. Some more on interpretation.
Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Time Magazine
Allows you to search more than 100 million words of text of American English from 1923 to the present, as found in TIME magazine.

Open E-Book Collections

Directory of Open Access Books
A continuously updated collection of academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. To login, click on the bright yellowish/orange LOG IN button. Select University of Tennessee, Knoxville from the drop-down list and log in with your NetID/password.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks from books in the public domain: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Google Books
Full and partial images of thousands of books and periodicals digitized by Google. To limit results to full-text, use the advanced book search and click on "full-view only." Particularly good resource for finding the complete text of older books and periodicals.

Text Visualization Tools

Bookworm: HathiTrust
Bookworm is a simple and powerful way to visualize trends in repositories of digitized texts.
Google N-Grams Viewer
Designed by Google which allows a user to plot the use of words over time in approx. 5 million books.
more...less...
You can select sets of curated works: "American English," "British English," "English," "Chinese (simplified)," "English Fiction," "French," "German," "Hebrew," "Russian," and "Spanish."

Text Mining Tools

Calibre
Calibre is a free and open source e-book library management application developed by users of e-books for users of e-books. It has a cornucopia of features including
E-book format conversion.
HathiTrust Research Center
The HathiTrust Research Center enables computational access for nonprofit and educational users to published works in the public domain and, in the future, on limited terms to works in-copyright from the HathiTrust.
Hermeneutica
A collection of text mining tools accompanied
by sets of text (an online book) describing the how’s and why’s of text mining in modern
scholarship
TAPoR 3
Gateway to the tools used in sophisticated text analysis and retrieval.
more...less...
With TAPoR 2.0 you can:

1- Discover text manipulation, analysis, and visualization tools
2- Discover historic tools
3- Read tool reviews and recommendations
4- Learn about papers, articles and other sources about specific tools
5- Tag, comment, rate and review collaboratively
Laurence Anthony Suite of Text Analysis Tools:
Collection of tools for text corpus creation, conversion, analysis, and manipulation
Voyant Tools
Voyeur is a web-based text analysis environment. It is designed to be user-friendly, flexible and powerful. Voyeur is part of the Hermeneuti.ca.
more...less...
What you can do with Voyeur:

1- use texts in a variety of formats including plain text, HTML, XML, PDF, RTF and MS Word
2- use texts from different locations, including URLs and uploaded files
3- perform lexical analysis including the study of frequency and distribution data; in particular
4- export data into other tools (as XML, tab separated values, etc.)
5- embed live tools into remote web sites that can accompany or complement your own content
Mallet: MAchine Learning for LanguagE
Advanced resource with multiple machine learning applications for working with text.

Text & Video Annotation

Annotation Studio
Annotation Studio is a suite of collaborative web-based annotation tools currently under development at MIT.
AntVid
VideoAnt is a web-based video annotation tool for mobile and desktop devices. Use VideoAnt to add annotations, or comments, to web-hosted videos. VideoAnt-annotated videos are called “Ants”.