Data Sources: Reference

Social Explorer
Access to current and historical Census data and other provider demographics for most geographies. Create reports and maps.

American FactFinder
Community data (US, states, counties, cities towns, and 5-digit ZIP Codes). Fact Sheets include information on people, housing, business & government.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Find statistics on population, economic conditions, labor, health, education, natural resources, pollution, and many other topics. Includes abstracts, citations, and direct links to tables. Enter topic then use filters to select by local area.

ProQuest Statistical DataSets
Presents statistical data from governments and commercial publishers in viewable side-by-side tables and charts.

LexisNexis Academic
Search full text regional and local newspapers for local information on education, crime, and other community issues.

State Statistical Abstracts. Census Bureau.
This site is organized by state with links to offices and departments that provide state and local level statistical data.

• Statistical Abstract of the United States. Annual. Census Bureau.
  Print HA201(yr.) 1896-2012 Latest Reference
  Current demographic, social, political, and economic statistics for the nation drawn from both government and private sources. Includes source references and a comprehensive index. May also be searched in the ProQuest Statistical Insight database.
  
  
• County and City Data Book. 2007. Discontinued. Census Bureau.
  Print: Hodges Stacks Census Collection 4th floor HA202.A36 1949-2007.
  Tables cover population, age, income, education, and housing ownership. Also health care, vital statistics, and social programs. Data for states, counties and places with appendices, source notes and maps.
  Also available at the Geospatial & Statistical Data Center 1944-2000 (University of Virginia).
  
  
• U.S.A. Counties.  Census Bureau.
  This file contains demographic, economic and governmental data for counties published in the last three editions of the County and City Data Book and the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Time periods for data items vary; some data provided back to 1960.
  
  
• County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book. Bernan Press.
  Print only. HA203.C68 1992-2012. Latest edition in Reference 
  Additional and updated data for counties and cities.
  
  
• Places, Towns, Townships. Bernan Press.
  Print only. Stacks HT123.P53 1993-2007. 
  Provides similar data as the County & City Extra but for places, towns and townships.
  
  
• State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Discontinued. Census Bureau. 
  Print Hodges Stacks Census Collection HA203.S83 1979-2010 
  Presents a variety of data primarily for metropolitan areas and States but also includes data for counties and central cities. Features rankings of states and metro areas by demographic, social and economic characteristics.
  
  

• State Fact Sheets. Department of Agriculture
  Includes federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, commodities, and exports. Links to county-level data when available. See also County-level Data Sets.

• DataFinder - Population Reference Bureau
  Select counties or places under United States.

• Census Bureau - Data Access Tools 
  1790-2000 print 3rd floor HA201(census year)
  Visit Census site for 2010 data from Census of Population and Housing or American FactFinder, metro areas, counties and places.