Political Science
- Political Science LibguideThe main Political Science resource guide from University of Tennessee Libraries.
Contact Information
Steven Milewski
Contact:
Hodges Library
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966
smilewsk@utk.edu
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966
smilewsk@utk.edu
865 - 974 - 2647
Subjects: Political Science, Social Work
Scholarly and Other Databases
-
Academic Search CompleteA good place to start searching for peer-reviewed articles.
-
CQ Researcher (1923-present)Contains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons and lists of key resources.
-
Nexis Uni(Formerly LexisNexis Academic) Provides content from US and international magazines, journals, newspapers, television and radio broadcasts dating back mostly from the 1990s with some content from the 1970s. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
-
PAIS Index 1915+PAIS covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
-
ProQuest Congressional (1789-present)Comprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, transcripts, regulations, political news, and analytical reports. Formerly called: LexisNexis Congressional
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-present)International index of journals in political science. Includes international relations, law, public administration and public policy.
Think Tanks and NGOs
- Harvard's Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.
- Writing about think tanks and using their research: A cautionary tip sheetFrom Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy.
Evaluation of Sources
- Ulrich'sUse Ulrich's to determine if an article is from a peer-review journal. First, type the journal name in the search bar, and select it from the results. Then, look in the Basic Description table for the Refereed and Content Type sections to determine whether a journal is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed. (Ulrich's uses the term refereed, which is the same as peer-reviewed.)