Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Books as Art: Reference for Artists' Books

This guide lists resources in Special Collections about the history of book creation, special binding and printing techniques, the development of illustrations, and artist's books.

Books about Artists' Books

Title: American artist’s manual. Selections; early American papermaking: two treatises on manufacturing techniques

Creator: Cutbush, James; Bidwell, John; Morris, Henry; Bird & Bull Press

Date: 1990

Publisher/Press: New Castle, DE : Oak Knoll Books

Call Number: TS1095.U6 C84 1990

Subject: Handmade Paper, Papermaking

Descriptions: Of 180 copies, 10, numbered A-J, includes original specimens of Gilpin and Robeson handmade papers; 35 copies, numbered 1-35 include a specimen of Robeson handmade paper. This copy is No. 30. Bound in grey paper boards printed in red; red cloth shelfback with grey leather label stamped in gold. In large (34 x 22 cm.) red cloth-covered box with specimen in pocket. Printed at the Bird & Bull Press, with a note from the printer, signed H.M. [Henry Morris].

Title: The Book Beautiful and the Binding as Art

Creator:  Wick, Peter A., Garvey, Eleanor M., & Sexton, Mark

Date: 1983

Publisher/Press: New York : John F. Fleming, Inc. ; Boston ; Priscilla Juvelis, Inc.

Call Number: N7433.3 .B66

Subject: Book Binding, Artist Books

Description: exhibit catalog and bibliography of Carlos R. Scherrer's collection of intricately bound books, alongside full-color plates of the books and their bindings.

Title: Beautiful bookbindings : a thousand years of the bookbinder's art

Creator: Marks, P. J. M.

Date: 2011

Publisher/Press: London : British Library ; New Castle, DE : Oak Knoll Press

Call Number: Z269 .M368 2011

Subject: bookbinding, England

Description: "Visual overview of 100 bookbindings designed in the last thousand years, examining the history and technique of the craft. Includes work by binders Mearne, Padeloup, Payne, Simier, and others. Illustrated with color photographs from The British Library"

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website