Skip to main content
Skip to content

Appalachia (Special Collections): Home

This guide will direct you to resources in Special Collections on topics related to the Appalachian region.

Special Collections: Getting Started

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history and culture of the Appalachian region.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

General Resources

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to the Appalachian region and its history.

Search Terms

There are several search terms to use when looking for materials, for example: Appalachia, Appalachian, culture, customs, handicraft, mountain people, mountain life, Southern Appalachia. Although some of the terms are dated, they reflect the historic usage and can help identify contemporaneous materials. Combining some terms can help return more relevant results.

The Special Collections online finding aids are indexed using Library of Congress headings. Some relevant headings include:

Appalachian Region
Appalachian Region -- History
Appalachian Region -- Social conditions
Appalachian Region, Southern
Appalachian Region, Southern -- Religion
Appalachian Region, Southern -- Social life and customs
Appalachian Region, Southern -- Women
Cooking, American -- Appalachian Region
Folklore -- Appalachian Region
Folklore -- Great Smoky Mountains (N.C. and Tenn.)
Handicraft -- Appalachian Region, Southern
Handicraft -- Tennessee

General Information
Appalachia: a reference book. 1979 (HC107.A13 A889 1979)
Encyclopedia of Appalachia. 2006 (Hodges Reference F106.E53 2006)

Digital Resources

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu
lib.utk.edu/special/


We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website / Blog Page