Research Guides: Middle Eastern Studies: Language & Literature

Arabic Language Resources

Al Jazeera: Learning Arabic
Memrise: Arabic Learning
Free Language Learning Course- sourced by native speakers worldwide.

Brockelmann Online
Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period.
If the content of an Index Islamicus article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Users of keyboard navigation or screen readers may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
Transparent Language
A language learning application.
Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).

All users must create a new account. If you do not have an account, please click on the SIGN UP tab to create a username and password.

Cambridge Arabic-English Dictionary

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library
Full-text searchable collection of early printed books in Arabic script covering many topics. Includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books. Coverage from 1475 to 1900.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library has been divided into three subject modules:
• Module 1: Religion and Law
• Module 2: Sciences, History, and Geography
• Module 3: Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Learn Arabic!

Mango Languages
An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app.
First-time users must create a user profile on Mango Languages.
When creating your account for the first time, go through our link here on the A-Z databases page to be connected to UTK. Choose "sign up" and then choose a language to get to the profile set-up area. After account set-up, you can login from anywhere. A user profile allows you to keep track of your progress and test results.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tennessee Electronic Library
Create an account with TEL to access Transparent Language Online from their website. Find it in the right side bar entitled "Featured Resources."
Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)

Featured Literature

The Poetry of Arab Women

An outstanding collection that showcases the work of 82 Arab women poets working all over the world, including Etel Adnan, Salma Khadra Jayyusi, & Naomi Shihab Nye.

General Language & Literature Databases

CLCD
Provides reviews, thematic lists, award listings, and curriculum tools for PreK - 12 books.
Preferred browsers are Google Chrome, Firefox or IE 8.0 or higher. Safari and mobile devices are not recommended.
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
EBSCO Ebook Collection
A collection of e-books covering a wide range of subjects.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Google Books
Search a large index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes international literature in linguistics and related disciplines including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage from 1973 to current.
MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
A free interface to the WorldCat database, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.