Research Guides: U. S. History: The Twentieth Century: America in the 1960s

Secondary sources

America : History and Life with Full Text

Indexes scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Some access to full-text articles is available.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998
Full-text of several African American newspapers. Be sure to limit by date.

If the content of a Readex or NewsBank article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Black Studies Center
Includes Chicago Defender, 1912-75, and Daily Defender, 1958-75, major African American newspapers.

Components include:
• Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
• Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP)
• The Chicago Defender
• Black Literature Index
In addition, two historical Black newapapers can be search on Black Studies Center. These are:
• Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The March of Time
Newsreels offered in movie theaters and on television.
Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003
African American newspaper. Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
The Baltimore Sun
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
Boston Globe
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
African American newspaper. Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.

Chicago Tribune, 1849 - 1989
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.

Christian Science Monitor
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
Hartford Courant
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2001
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
The Nashville Tennessean, 1812-2009
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.

Access provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
African American newspaper. Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.

New York Times, 1851-2009
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.

Wall Street Journal, 1889-2013
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.
Washington Post, 1877-2008
Proquest Historical Newspaper that can be searched in combination with other titles from Proquest.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Indexing for popular magazines. Some full-text links.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexing for academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Some full-text is included.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
Indexing for legal periodicals.

Access provided by UT Law Library.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
PAIS Index

Covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, and includes journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and more.
The Nation Archive
Full-text of prominent Liberal-leaning magazine.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Vogue Archive

Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to current, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Archives Unbound
Includes archival collections on the civil rights movement.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Archival text and video documenting music and social movements from the 1960s.
ProQuest History Vault
Archival full-text of documents on the social issues of the 1960s including civil rights, women's movements, and aspects of the vietnam war.
The Sixties : Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1960-1974.
Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary on the 1960s.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature : North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Includes full-text of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave. Be sure to limit by date.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Full-text of archival material on social movements. Be sure to limit by date.

Digital Public Library of America
Open access website with digital collections from across the United States.

American History in Video
Video collection that includes PBS and History Channel documentaries as well as contemporary footage of events.
AP Newsroom
Images created by the Associated Press for publication in news sources.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Films On Demand

A collection of thousands of educational streaming videos in the Humanities and Sciences. Browse by topic and popular producers.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Films on Demand. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

Hodges Library

Subjects: History