Selected List of Websites with Open Access Primary Sources
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryFull-text access to collections of digital material held by participating institutions.
- Google BooksFull and partial images of thousands of books and periodicals digitized by Google. To limit results to full-text, use the advanced book search and click on "full-view only." Particularly good resource for finding the complete text of older books and periodicals.
- Historical Text ArchiveDeveloped by writer Don Mabry. Contains links to full-text on many historical subjects and time periods.
- Internet ArchiveThis archive contains full-text of books, documents, and images. It includes the WayBackMachine which provides access to old websites.
- Voice of the Shuttle (University of California--Santa Barbara)Searchable, full-text links for the Humanities.
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Fordham University)Collection of historical texts divided into ancient, medieval, and modern sourcebooks with additional links to special resources and sub-sourcebooks.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaExtensive collection of images and text from libraries and other repositories across the U.S. UT Libraries is a participating member.
- National Library of MedicineNLM's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. From the colonial period to the 20th century.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Spring House, Chilhowee Park, Knoxville, @1900-15
From American Memory, Library of Congress