Newspapers
- Proquest Historical NewspapersIncludes Arizona Constitution, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily News, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Indianapolis Sun, Los Angeles Times, Nashville Tennessean, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, New York Tribune St. Louis Post-Dispatch, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post. Dates vary. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page.
- Chronicling America : Historic American NewspapersFull-text of newspapers from 1836-1922 from across the United States, including several titles from Tennessee. Sponsored by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Open access.
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998Provides full-text access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans from more than 35 states.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993
Full-text collection of U.S. newspapers. See list of titles.
- Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950Full-text of an influential popular magazine published by two prominent US publishers, Joseph Patterson, the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, the Chicago Tribune.
Periodicals
- American PeriodicalsFull-text access to periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Can be searched in combination with the Proquest Historical Newspapers. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page. Access is limited to UT users.
- The Nation Archive Premium EditionFull-text access to The Nation, America's oldest weekly magazine from 1865 to present. Access is limited to UT users.
- Gale Presents : National Geographic Virtual Library (1888-present)Complete full-text archive of the magazine from 1888 to 1994.
- Vogue ArchiveFull-text of every issue from 1892 to present.
- Eight CenturiesIndexes US and British periodicals from 1786-1925. Access is limited to UT users.
Manuscripts and Rare Books
- Archives UnboundA selection of full-text primary source databases including:
"We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961," "Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League," "Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984," "Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress," and "James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi." - ProQuest History VaultPrimary source materials on slavery, African-American history, Southern plantation records, Vietnam War, and national security.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000Full-text of documents from 1600-2000. Access is limited to UT users.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature : North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the FamilySearchable archive on American day-to-day life, attitudes, mores, and behaviors. Access is limited to UT users.
- American West : Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago
A collection of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources about the American West.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and ProtestDatabase includes color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975.
- The Sixties : Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1960-1974.Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary on the 1960s.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
Multi-format Collections
- World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
Primary source material from hundreds of fairs and expositions around the world. Of local interest, the collection has documents from the 1982 Knoxville World’s Fair and the 1913 Knoxville National Conservation Exposition.
- American History, 1493-1945
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Explores primary sources dating from the earliest contact with European settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Coverage from 1524 to 1997. - Indigenous Peoples of North America
Full-text primary source collection documenting the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
- African American Communities
Primary sources related to discrimination, urban renewal, civil rights, race relations, and African American culture and identity. This resource focuses on experiences in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790–1920Primary source collection of documents on the evolution of crime and punishment. The archive's focus is on the nineteenth century- the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems.
- Smithsonian Collections Online
Primary source materials from four Smithsonian collections: Evolution of Flight, Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry, World's Fairs and Expositions, and Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
Records for Individuals
- Ancestry Library EditionLarge database of information for individuals including census records, birth, marriage and death records and immigration records. Includes civil-war era census records.
Government and Legal Documents
- Making of Modern Law: Legal TreatisesDigital images of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
- Foreign Broadcast Information ServiceFBIS was a monitoring agency for the CIA. This collection of documents from foreign media sources is a resource for news as it was presented in countries around the world, especially as related to US interests abroad.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from the twentieth and twenty first centuries, including presidential libraries, diplomatic correspondence, domestic surveillance, and military reports.
Press, Images, and Video
- Associated Press Images Collection
Contemporary and historical images from the Associated Press.
- Films On DemandFilms on a variety of historical topics and time periods. Click on history under subjects to see a list. Or search for a specific topic in the box at the right.
- Academic Video OnlineAmerican History in Video is a part of this collection. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- The March of Time
Newsreels historically shown in movie theatres and television produced by Time Inc. from 1935-1967.
- Associated Press Collections Online
Collection includes online versions of wire copy, correspondence, memos, and internal publications from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Babe Ruth, 1917
Ruth playing for Boston Red Sox at Comiskey Park, Chicago. From Chicago Daily News.
American Memory.
World War II poster
From AP Images
Sanitation Strike, Memphis, 1968
On the Moon, July 20, 1969
Astronaut Edwin E. Aldrin Jr., Lunar Module Pilot during Apollo 11 on the moon
From: National Archives and Records Administration