Article, Book, and Book Review Databases
These databases provide access to secondary source material including scholarly articles, books and book reviews. Access is limited to UT users.
- African American Communities
Primary sources related to discrimination, urban renewal, civil rights, race relations, and African American culture and identity. This resource focuses on experiences in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- America : History and Life with Full TextPrimary index for U.S. and Canadian history. Indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Humanities International CompleteIndex to periodicals in a broad range of humanities subjects.
- FirstSearchCombined catalog for libraries worldwide. Useful for finding out about books not held at UT.
- PAIS IndexIndexes articles and government documents on political subjects from 1915 to present. Good for contemporary viewpoint of events.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index : A & HCI
This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge. Indexes a wide variety of humanities journals. - Ethnic NewswatchFull-text of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, 1990 to present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index RetrospectiveIndexes a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907 to 1984.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890-1982
- Race Relations AbstractsA bibliographic research database covering topics on the social, political and economic relations between race and ethnicity. Contains bibliographic records covering areas relating to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline. Documents start at 1903 which makes this database a good place to look for older articles.
