Full-text Primary Sources
- Black Studies CenterIncludes index to periodicals and full-text of newspapers including the Chicago Defender, a prominent black newspaper. Access is limited to UT users.
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998
A NewsBank collection of over 200 full-text U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- Archives UnboundA selection of full-text primary source databases including:
"We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961," "Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League," "Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984," "Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress," and "James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi." - ProQuest History VaultPrimary source materials on slavery, African-American history, Southern plantation records, Vietnam War, and national security. Includes records from civil rights organizations including NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000Full-text of archival material on social movements. Be sure to limit by date.
- Black Women WritersFull-text of writings by women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, essays and poetry from Africa, US, and the Caribbean.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
- African American Communities
Primary sources related to discrimination, urban renewal, civil rights, race relations, and African American culture and identity. This resource focuses on experiences in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- American History, 1493-1945
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Newspapers
- Proquest Historical NewspapersIncludes Arizona Constitution, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily News, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Indianapolis Sun, Los Angeles Times, Nashville Tennessean, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, New York Tribune St. Louis Post-Dispatch, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post. Dates vary. NY Amsterdam News and Chicago Defender are black newspapers. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page. Access is limited to UT users.
- African American Newspapers. (Legacy) 1827-1909A collection of 19th century newspapers including:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902)
The Colored American (1837–1841)
Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863)
Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829)
The National Era (1847–1860)
The North Star (1847–1851)
Provincial Freeman (1854–1857)
Weekly Advocate (1837–1837) - African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998Provides full-text access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans from more than 35 states.
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Digitized historical U.S. newspapers. The UT Libraries has added selected Tennessee newspapers to this cooperative venture.