Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audience: UTK Veterinary College

Lists of books for courses years 1-4, + other teaching and research support

Resources for Interns and Other House Officers

Interns and other  House Officers have access to resources such as veterinary databases; full text PDFs of articles; articles from other libraries;  scans or holds of materials at the UT Libraries; research support; and point of care resources.

Use LibKey Nomad for Chrome and Firefox to get PDFs of articles

To get PDFs of articles at publishers' sites and in databases such as Pubmed and Web of Science, get the LibKey Nomad extension for Chrome, and also Firefox, Vivaldi, Edge, or Brave. Select University of Tennessee Libraries as the organization when setting up LibKey Nomad.

Chrome extension

Firefox add-on

undefined

5/18/2020  Nomad now works with these databases

  • Web of Science and the other databases on Web of Science platform
  • CAB ABSTRACTS (international research database for veterinary medicine)
  • Scopus (Elsevier database of articles, Elsevier and Wiley own almost all of veterinary medicine)

Web of Science, Endnote, other Clarivate services 

feature the Kopernio plugin, 

prompting users to install Kopernio to get the PDF.

Example:

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before installing Kopernio consider:  

  • the Kopernio terms of use and privacy policies are contradictory

  • Kopernio may pull the PDF from sources that do not comply with copyright
  • Kopernio requests users’ UTK NetID and Password

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

    Don't use SCI-HUB 

    SCI-HUB  "Hosts material without regard to copyright"

       SCI-HUB   "May pose a security threat"

SCI-HUB is not the solution to access to full-text. 

SCI-HUB is a symptom that the scholarly communication system does not serve scholars or readers: it is not affordable, not equitable, and not innovative.

There are notable exceptions. examples of affordable, equitable and innovative:  PeerJ and the ECS Free the Science

Solutions include:

More:

Interlibrary Services

Obtain articles and other items from other libraries by filling out a request after registering for ILLIA.D.  Free service to UT students, faculty, and staff. Check to see that journals or books are not in OneSearch before submitting the request so that it won't be returned.

 

Request Materials

Office of Information Technology Research Computing Support

OIT offers a variety of research support services including statistical consulting to UT students, faculty, and staff.

Point of Care Resources

 

More information: Handout--

More information: See TABS above on this guide 

Video above is from publisher.  More on Vetstream YouTube Channel

Consultant is free to anyone anywhere

  • 5300 diseases of 8 species, continually updated
  • When searched by Diagnosis, provides expert opinion by listing citations to articles filtered by Dr. White for quality and clinical relevance
  • When searched by Sign, provides diagnostic support

Don't pay for access OR spend a lot of time trying to get access, AskUs!

Jeanine Williamson jwilliamson@utk.edu  |   Veterinary Librarian (interim)

Jeffrey Hines         |      jhines@utk.edu  |  Evening Supervisor

Primary contacts for veterinary medicine @ Pendergrass Library

by

 

Was this guide helpful?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Don't know: 0 votes (0%)
See UT Libraries FAQ pages for more help: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0