Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Guide: Other Streaming Sources

This guide will provide information about and resources for streamed video at Hodges Library

Other Streaming Sources

There are many sites that offer "freely" streamed videos that can be very valuable resources. 

Please note:  the University of Tennessee can not be responsible for costs, access availability, authenticity, rights holders permissions, technical quality, accessibility (captioning/audio description), Terms of Service, allowable usage, nor user data privacy considerations on 3rd party consumer streaming services.  Content may be added or removed without notice. Some of the sites have advertising.

Below are the list of some of these sites. 

AdView from Duke University

"The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television".

"AdViews is a collaborative project between the Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University."
 

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

The American Archive of Public Television is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH. It is a "collection of 40,000 hours" of public television and radio programs and "contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level."

 

American Memory

American Memory:  Remaining Collections (from Library of Congress)  From site:  We've migrated most of our American Memory collections to new presentations.  If you don't see what you're looking for here, see this list of updated collections, http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/updatedList.html.  For a full list of all digitized collections at the Library of Congress, please go to https://www.loc.gov/collections/.

American Memory provides free and open access through the internet to written and spoken word, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.  It is a digital record of American history and creativity.  These material, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."

American Memory:  Migrated Collections  -  From page: "Collections that have been migrated , no longer appear in internal American Memory search results and brows lists.

 

American Rhetoric

American Rhetoric features include its Online Speech Bank that is a "database and index to 5,000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews" and other recorded media events.  It also includes sections containing Top 100 Speeches, Rhetorical Figures in Sound, Movie Speeches, and others.

It depends on "fair use" for those items not in the public domain.  The site is supported by advertising and maintained by a commincation professor.

 

C-SPAN Video Library

"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational research, and archival uses.   Now over 256,200 hours of content is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.  All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online for free."The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource."

Folkstreams

Folkstreams - From site:  "Folkstreams' mission is to find, preserve, contextualize and stream documentary films on American folklife. 

 

From Folkstreams rights page:

All titles in Folkstreams are protected by copyright.

These rights are mostly held by the filmmaker(s). The filmmakers have granted Folkstreams permission to stream their work for users to watch free of charge on their home computers. But for other permissions like downloading, using the footage in other projects or videos, or projecting the streams in a classroom or institution, the user should apply to Folkstreams or to the filmmaker, whose film may available as a high quality DVD from a distributor.

 

Frontline

Frontline offers streamed acces to many of the documenary films from this award winning PBS public affairs series.

Interactive Archive / Moving Images

The Internet Archives' Moving Images Library offers many free movies, films, and videos.  "This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts," to World War II propaganda, "to cartoons and concerts." Many of these videos are available for free download.  Read the terms of use for each collection!

 

 

Internet Archive collections of note:


•  Movies - "Watch full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, movie trailers, and film.  Subcollections include Feature Films, Sci-Fi / Horror, Stock Footage, Comedy Films, Silent Films, Film Noir, Movie Trailers, Prelinger Arvhives and more.  Many individual movies outside collections too.

•  Prelinger Archives - Ephemeral collection (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films) between 1927 and 1987.

Internet Archive is also an excellent source for digital formats in general:  Texts, Audio, Moving images, software, and archived web pages.  Read the terms of use for each collection!

Internet Movie Database

"The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is a great collection of information about: movies, television shows, actors, actresses, director's, trivia, filming locations, trivia, reviews, and much more.  While its strength is its database of information, it is also has links to movie trailers, full length films and television shows at other sites. It is easily searchable and very user friendly.  It is owned by Amazon.com.

The Interviews: An Oral History of Television (formerly the Archive of American Television)

The Interviews:  An Oral History of Television - From site:  Contains over 900 oral history interviews with legends of television captured in video.  The Interviews continues to produce new interviews every year, and covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history and American Culture.

 

COMPLETE LIST OF INTERVIEWS

 

ABOUT "THE INTERVIEWS"

"In 1997 the Television Academy Foundation officially launched the "Archive of American Television" to capture the stories behind the making of television and preserve them for future generations. ed "The Interviews:  An Oral History of Television....

These primary-source oral histories are conducted in life-history format, starting with the subject's early years and influences.  The conversation then moves into their major television work, and concludes with the subject's thoughts about his or her craft as well as advice to aspiring professionals.  The interviews are presented uncut and unscripted.  They are never edited for content, but in rare cases an interviewee may request to amend their own words for the historical record.  The Interviews collection is produced in the inters of preserving the history of television.  It is intended as primary source material for future generations, to preserve the stories behind the making of television.  To maintain the historical and educational integrity of the collection, the interviews are presented as they were recorded, captured at a particular moment in time.

 

These interviews can be browsed by, person, show, topic, or profession.

Mike Wallace Interview, The

The Mike Wallace Interview has been made available by the University of Texas at Austin's Harry Ransom Center.  This show, in the late 50's, interviewed well known stars, political, and controversial figures of the day.  Such as: Steve Allen, Frank Lloyd Wright, Frank Reuther, Elenor Roosevelt, Senator James Eastland, Salvador Dali, Erich Fromm, etc.  65 of the interviews from the series are available.

The opening line by Mike Wallace for this show was "Whether you agree or disagree with what you will heare, we feel that none will deny the right of these views to be broadcast"

"Mike Wallace rose to prominence in 1956 with the New York City television interview program, Night-Beat which soon developed into the nationally televised prime-time program, The Mike Wallace Interview.  Well prepared with extensive research, Wallace asked probing questions of guests framed in tight close-ups.  The result was a series of compelling and reveling interviews with some of the most interesting and important people."

 

Miller Center's Presidential Speeches Collection

Miller Center's Presidential Speeches Collection from the University of Virginia's Miller Center.  "The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy and political history"

Among the Miller Center Resources are a compilation of some of the speeches from all of the current and past presidents.  Text, audio, and video.

 

The Miller Center contains other collections of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.

National Film Board of Canada

National Film Board of Canada online screeing room features over 3000 productions.  This is not all of the NFB videos available, just titles streaming free of charge.

Netflix US YouTube Channel

Netflix US YouTube Channel offers a select number of documentaries from Netflix that are freely available on their YouTube channel.

Nova

NOVA   - From site:  "NOVA is the most-watched prime time science series on American television... Now in its fourth decade of production, the series remains committed to producing in-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form miniseries, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world. NOVA is produced by WGBH in Boston." 

NOVA programs are available on this site, but can be taken down.  Not all of the past NOVA shows are available.  Click on "Watch" at the top of the page, then , click on "All episodes" (towards the middle of the page".  There may be a quick commercial at beginning of the NOVA video.  Transcripts for videos shown can be found on the page of the video below the player window.

PBS Video

PBS Video offers streamed award winning national programing and locally produced shows.  Unfortunately some of the videos require you to be a PBS member.  Click on "Video" at the top of the page to see the documentaries and shows offered.

SnagFilms

SnagFilms.com is a website where you can watch movies, TV show episodes, documentaries, and exclusive comedy shorts.  It contains a library of over 2000 titles and is growing. 

 

Tubitv

 Tubitv offers "free" movie and television show content.  While there are no subscritption fees, there are ads before and during that cannot be skipped through.  Content is constantly added and removed, so be aware that particular tv shows and movie access may cease.  Older television series and movies from Lionsgate, MGM, Paramount, Starz and others.

Turner Classic Movies Database

TCMDb is the database for Turner Classic Movies and includes Biographies, Cast and Crew, Filmographies (with Synopsis), Photos and Archival Movie Poster Images, etc.  When the page opens click on the "TCMDb" tab at top of page.  Then click on either "DATABASE HOME" or "PHOTO ARCHIVES" in the dropdown.

University Videos

University Videos' (by MicroSeach Corporation) website says it contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Tob Universities" Valez, in School Library Journal, describes it as a curation of "academic videos and the metadata from a vast array of University YouTube channels, as well as TED and TEDx talks, scientific and cultural institutions like NASA and the Smithsonians's National Museum of Natural History, ..."  Captioning can depend on the University or College. Access is free but availability of content can change.  Some access to content from The University of Tennessee - Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory can be found here in addition to their officially posted sites. 

WGBH Open Vault: Media Library and Archives

WGBH Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA).  "  We provide online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.  Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning."

 

Some other involving WGBH can be found below:

 

American Archive of Public Broadcasting - From site:  "In 2013 th Corporation for Public Broadcasting selected WGBH and the Library of Congress as the permanent stewards of teh American Archive of Public Broadcasting, an initiative seeking to identify , preserve and make accessible significant historical content created by public media and to preserve at-risk public media before its content is lost to posterity.  Approximately 40,000 hours of content comprising 68,0000 programs, contributed by 100 stations across the country, have been digitized.  We provide access to nearly 12,000 of these programs which are available online at americanarchive.org."

Boston TV News Digital Library   - From site: "During this CLIR and IMLS-funded project, we worked with the Boson Public Library, Cambridge Community Television, and Northeast Historic Film to digitize and bring to life local news stories produced in and about Boston from 1960 to 2000.  Nearly 2,000 news programs are available online aT BostonLocaTV.org.

 

 

YouTube

"Founded in February 2005, YouTube is the leader in online video, and the premier destination to watch and share original videos worldwide through a web experience.  YouTube allows people to easily upload, share video clips on www.YouTube.com and across the Internet through websites, mobile devices, blogs, and email."  Like many "free" sites the material is not guaranteed to stay available on YouTube.  Also, please evaluate whether the material you link to has been legitimately uploaded into YouTube.

 

Click here for the University of Tennessee's YouTube Channnel

 

Click here for the University of Tennessee Library's YouTube Channel

 

For using YouTube in Canvas please go to OIT's website and their answer to

I would like to incorporate video into my Online@UT (Canvas) course site.  What are my Options?

 

 

Contact Information

Profile Photo
Steven Milewski
Contact:
Hodges Library
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966

smilewsk@utk.edu

865 - 974 - 2647

LinkedIN Learning

LinkedIn Learning is an online video platform led by industry experts from around the world. It is easy to use and accessible any time from any device. You can log in using your University of Tennessee NetID and password.

 

 

More Information on LinkedIn

"If you have staff working from home and are looking for a meaningful task for them, take this opportunity to encourage them to learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning. As a university faculty, staff, or student, we have access to LinkedIn Learning. LinkedIn Learning has thousands of videos on topics covering everything from technology basics to leadership skills. 

  1. Log on to LinkedIn Learning using your NetID and password.  
  2. Select the Browse menu. 
  3. Select See All under the Learning Paths options. 


Learn everything you need to know to get started on the LinkedIn Learning information page. In order to receive HR credits for completion of a LinkedIn Learning course, first log in with K@TE."