Research Guides: Political Science: Data Resources

Databases for Data

China Data Online
A collection of statistics about China.
Users of screen readers and keyboard navigation may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
OECD iLibrary
Books, papers, and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Analysis and data for many economic areas such as agriculture, energy, trade, and more.
United Nations Data Retrieval System
Broad data coverage from various international and national sources.
World Bank Open Data
Contains World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and additional statistical data files from the World Bank.

Research Data

Researchers involved in secondary analysis of data will find a vast array of data files available for use. Likewise, there are many sources of statistical information for researchers who do not necessarily need a large quantity of data to analyze. Visit the Data Services guide for more information.

For a thorough Data Management or Data Services consultation, please feel free to consult with Christopher Eaker, UT's Data CurationLibrarian.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Archive of political and social research data. Includes leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
Sociometrics
Library of data files from eight topically-based health and social science collections. Contains longitudinal datasets as well as original survey instruments.

Statistical Sources

Data Planet
Current social science datasets. Browse by subject, source, or location. Includes analysis tools and guides on working with data.
Screen reader users should avoid using an Android or iOS device on this website.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A current summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index of tables and full-text reports to statistical data produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Also in print, HV6787.S68.

Polling/Public Opinion Information

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It focuses on seven sectors: global attitudes, religion and public life, the impact of the Internet on American life, social and demographic trends, Hispanic attitudes, journalism, and the press.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
A large collection of public opinion poll data. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. When available, results charts and full datasets are available for download.
If Roper Center content is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Users of keyboard navigation or of swipe/gesture navigation on Android/iOS may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu.