New Political Science Books
Contact Information
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966
smilewsk@utk.edu
Key Databases
Best Bets
- Academic Search CompleteA good place to start researching for journal articles. Provides full text articles on a wide range of topics.
- CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-current)
Resources devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
- CQ Press Library
A great place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Cross-search all of UT Libraries CQ Press resources.
Formerly called CQ Press Political reference suite of online editions. - CQ Researcher
Contains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons and lists of key resources.
- ICPSR
Archive of political and social research data. Includes leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
- Nexis Uni
Provides legal news, business, and cases and codes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
- PAIS Index
Covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, and includes journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and more.
- ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, and more. Also includes members and committees information.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International index of journals in political science, including international relations, law, public administration and public policy. Coverage from 1975 to current.
Other Important Databases
- HeinOnlineCollection of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more.
- Connect by S&P GlobalDiscover, analyze, visualize and integrate a diverse range of industry-leading analysis, market research, technical information and forecasts on current economic and political information and risk analysis for foreign nations.Note: You will need to click on "Log In" put in your UTK email and then hit "continue" and the site will recognize that you are at UTK and open.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975 in Britain and the U.S. Full-text of documents, images, and video.
- Annual review of political science.Annual edited volume that covers significant developments in the field of political science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology. Covers 1998-present.