Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science

Executive Branch - Current Administration and Campaigns

Politics 1: The Presidency
Democrats, Republicans, Independents, and third party candidates--If they were running or considering running for President in 2008, you can find them here. Also contains information from the 2000 and 2004 presidential campaigns

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
"... published every Monday; the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary" [note: is no longer updated or maintained, and will be discontinued in 2012]

(The) White House
The official site of the current presidential administration

(The) White House Live
Live streams and archived footage of presidential (i.e. Barack Obama) press conferences; does not include press conferences of previous administrations

Executive Branch - Historical Data and Information

(The) American Presidency Project
A great resource for the study of the American Presidency. The site comes from the University of California-Santa Barbara. Has a searchable database of more than 84,000 records. both current and historical information from 1789-2009

Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Produced by David Leip. Contemporary and historic election results. Includes congressional and gubernatorial results

Executive Orders Disposition Tables
Disposition Tables contain information about Executive Orders beginning with those signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt and are arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature

(The) Great Debate and Beyond: The History of Televised Presidential Debates
Videos, headlines, and commentary on the presidential debates from 1960-2000. Includes essays, statistics, and interviews of scholars

HeinOnline
See the U.S. Presidential Library. Includes Kennedy assassination reports, presidential papers, and many more primary source materials

(The) Library of Congress American Memory Presidential Collection
A collection of historical presidential material contained within the Library of Congress; includes ephemera, manuscripts, and film

(The) Library of Congress Portraits of the Presidents and First Ladies
156 black-and-white portraits of presidents and First Ladies

Miller Center of Public Affairs
The focus of this research center is the American presidency. Contains a growing collection of some of the most important speeches of the past 70 years (full audio). Is developing into one of the most comprehensive resource on the history and workings of the American presidency

Presidential Inaugurations
Contains images of original documents and transcriptions of all presidential inaugural addresses

Presidential Libraries
provides access to digital collections of thirteen presidential libraries

Presidents of the United States (POTUS)
Biographical information on all 43 Presidents of the U.S. Includes election results, cabinet members, notable events, inaugural addresses

Subject Guide