Your Librarian
Donna Braquet
She/Her
Contact:
Librarian for:
--Biology, EEB, BCMB, Microbiology, NIMBioS, GST
--Women, Gender & Sexuality
--Sociology
--Biology, EEB, BCMB, Microbiology, NIMBioS, GST
--Women, Gender & Sexuality
--Sociology
865-974-0016
- Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
- Oxford Reference Online
Multi-disciplinary reference collection including dictionaries, timelines, quotations, and other reference resources.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by
This major reference work breaks new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals.
ISBN: 9780387790619Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Family Theories by
Organized by content areas rather than by theory, this comprehensive, accessible handbook helps readers gain greater insight into how key theories have impacted today's family research. Most competing books, organized by theory, do not provide a strong sense of the links between theory and research. Using the 2000 and 2010 decade-in-review issues of the Journal of Marriage and Family as a resource, the book addresses the most important topics impacting family studies research today. The introductory chapter, written by the editors, provides an overview of the role family theories have had on the field. This chapter is followed by 23 others on family-related content areas written by renowned scholars in the field. The book is organized around the most important domains in the field: parenting and parent-child relationships, romantic relationships, conflict and aggression, structural variation and transitions, demographic variations, and families and extra-familial institutions. Each of the contributors describes how theory has been used to generate new knowledge in the field and suggests future directions for how theory may be used to extend our knowledge base. The book helps readers acquire a working knowledge of the key family science theories, findings, and issues and understand how researchers make use of these theories in their empirical efforts. To maximize accessibility, each of the renowned contributors addresses a common set of issues in their chapter: * Introduction to the content area * Review of the key topics, issues, and findings * A description of each of the major theories used to study that particular content area * Limitations of the theories * Suggestions for better use of the theories and/or new theoretical advances * Conclusions about future theoretical developments. An ideal text for graduate and/or advanced undergraduate family theories courses, this book's unique organization also lends itself to use in content-based family studies/science courses taught in family studies, human development, psychology, sociology, communication, education, and nursing. Due to its comprehensive and current approach, the book also appeals to scholars and researchers in these areas.
ISBN: 0415657229Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by
The third edition of Handbook of Marriage and the Family describes, analyzes, synthesizes, and critiques the current research and theory about family relationships, family structural variations, and the role of families in society. This updated Handbook provides the most comprehensive state-of-the art assessment of the existing knowledge of family life, with particular attention to variations due to gender, socioeconomic, race, ethnic, cultural, and life-style diversity. The Handbook also aims to provide the best synthesis of our existing scholarship on families that will be a primary source for scholars and professionals but also serve as the primary graduate text for graduate courses on family relationships and the roles of families in society. In addition, the involvement of chapter authors from a variety of fields including family psychology, family sociology, child development, family studies, public health, and family therapy, gives the Handbook a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework.
ISBN: 9781461439875Publication Date: 2012
Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States by
eproductive rights refers to a range of claims concerning whether, when and how to have children. Beneath this clear statement lays the most contentious political, legal, and cultural issue in America today. Involving the self, the family, and the State, women's reproductive rights generates much impassioned argument but painfully little agreement. Topics and authors take on diverse and often clashing positions, highlighting this issue's complex and highly charged nature. Arranged alphabetically by topic, articles representing racial and ethnic groups' experiences figure prominently, as do the effects of age, class, education, health, religion, and sexual preference on childbearing and -rearing practices, in and out of wedlock. It also includes articles on laws, court cases, political attitudes, prominent activists, and technological advances as they relate to reproductive rights. Entries are written by highly regarded scholars, are cross-referenced, and conclude with suggested further readings. Designed to introduce and inform the reader to this extremely difficult topic, Baer's ecumenical approach exposes us to a variety of opinions from support for current abortion policies to the building movement for fetal rights. Only reasoned opinions supported by hard evidence are included, and no attempt was made to mute the often incommensurable opinions expressed within. This book will be a valuable resources for students, scholars, and any person interested in learning about the multiplicity of perspectives on this important issue that is at the heart of our current culture wars.
ISBN: 0313306443Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Motherhood by
In the last decade, the topic of motherhood has emerged as a distinct and established field of scholarly inquiry. A cursory review of motherhood research reveals that hundreds of scholarly articles have been published on almost every motherhood theme imaginable. The Encyclopedia of Motherhood is a collection of approximately 700 articles in a three-volume, A-to-Z set exploring major topics related to motherhood, from geographical, historical and cultural entries to anthropological and psychological contributions. In human society, few institutions are as important as motherhood, and this unique encyclopedia captures the interdisciplinary foundation of the subject in one convenient reference. The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource designed to provide an understanding of the complexities of motherhood for academic and public libraries, and is written by academics and institutional experts in the social and behavioural sciences.
ISBN: 9781412968461Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by
From Internet censorship to sex and violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the media and their affect on children and adolescents is one of the most widely debated issues in our society. The Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. With over 400 entries, the two volumes of this resource cover the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact - for good and ill - on children and adolescents. Key features include: - provides cross-disciplinary coverage from the fields of psychology, education, media studies and communication, sociology and public policy; - offers a cross-cultural perspective with internationally contributing authors; - includes entries covering television, film, video games, the Internet, magazines and music; - explores complex and difficult topics such as violence, sex, rating systems and warning labels, attention-deficit disorder, body image and eating disorders, popular music lyrics, advertising, digital music downloading, parental involvement, policymaking and child development.
ISBN: 9781412905305Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Deelopment by
Infancy is a unique period, in that at no other state is there greater growth and development. During this time, growth is occurring at a physical level, but equally impressive are the socio-emotional and cognitive developments during this time. Genetics, the womb environment, and the physical environment after birth all combine to impact the rate and manner of growth. Who we ultimately become as individuals begins here. Intended for university and public libraries, the Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development is the major reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology. The scope of this work is to understand the developmental changes, when they occur, why they occur, how they occur, and those factors that influence that development. Although some medical information is included, the emphasis is on normal growth and is primarily from a psychological perspective. Cutting edge content will encompass the period of time from neo-nates to age three Award-winning Editors-in-Chief to ensure authoritative quality Organized alphabetically by topic for ease of reference Each article will include a glossary defining any unique terms Suggested readings at the end of each article provide a resource for additional information Extensively cross-referenced within the work to enable reader access to full and relevant information related to their interests Online availability via ScienceDirect platform
ISBN: 9780123708779Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society by
This three-volume set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. "Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world. Features 250 photographs representing the visual images of childhood.
ISBN: 0028657144Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience by
Scholarly interest in the varied dimensions of death and dying has led to the development of death studies that move beyond medical research to include behavioral science disciplines and practitioner-oriented fields such as psychology, gerontology, sociology, thanatology, anthropology, social work, counseling, law and family studies. As a result of this interdisciplinary interest, the literature in the field of death and the human experience studies has proliferated. Death-related terms and concepts such as appropriate death, body farms, contemporary and historical causes of death, caregiving and the death-care industry, dance of death (danse macabre), equivocal death, end-of-life decision making, life insurance, the history of hospice, near-death experiences, cemeteries, memorials, viatical settlements, suicide, medical mistakes, advance directives, family and caregiver stress, SIDS, cryonics, cyber-funerals, global beliefs and traditions, death denial, and social movements as well as interdisciplinary and practitioner-oriented perspectives on death now hold important family, economic, medical, legal and global social psychological consequences. As a result, many terms and phrases are now part of common everyday social discourse and media reporting. The lexicon relating to dying, death and the human experience is expansive, thus lending itself to the need to establish consistency in "vocabulary of death" meanings. The Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience does so, and this two-volume library reference is enriched through multidisciplinary contributions and perspective as it arranges, organizes, defines and clarifies an impressive list of more than 300 death-related concepts for the use of students and scholars, while facilitating a more refined and sensitive understanding of the field for an increasingly interested public.
ISBN: 9781412951784Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Adolescence by
The Encyclopedia of Adolescence breaks new ground as an important central resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath, the text serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge.
ISBN: 9781441916952Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Human Development by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Human Development, Three-Volume Set. Whether charting the emotional attachment of an infant to his or her parents and its long-term effects on well-being, media violence and adolescents' behaviour, or factors moderating the natural decline in physical and mental abilities associated with aging, the cross-disciplinary field of human development is one that captures interest among and holds practical relevance for the general public as well as academia. The Encyclopedia of Human Development presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies and education. From A to Z, 600 entries cover topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament and more. Key features and benefits include: - cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from and applications to the fields of psychology, education, human development and family studies and gerontology; - highlighting classic studies and theories and will provide brief biographies of notable researchers and theorists; - an introduction explaining the scope, rationale and audience for this Encyclopedia; - entries, organized A to Z, followed by a brief list of further readings and cross-references to other entries. Whilst entries are organized in the classical A to Z format, an alternative table of contents, a `reader's guide' is organized around themes or specific topic areas that allows readers interested in specific topics to find relevant encyclopedia entries more easily. Several `anchor essays' cover specific phases of the lifespan, for example: prenatal; infancy; childhood; adolescence; early and middle adulthood; later adulthood; and aging. A general bibliography builds from the further reading sections of the individual entries. Key Themes include: Abuse Adolescence Aging and Older Development Biographies Birth and Infancy Cognitive Development Death and Dying Early Childhood Development and Education Education Emotional Development Families and Family Development Genetics/Genetic Testing Health & Well Being Intelligence, Ability and Aptitude Language and Communications Laws and Policies Learning and Memory Mental Disorders Middle Adulthood Milestones Moral Development Older Adulthood and Old Age Parenting Personality Physical and Biological Development Professional Organizations Race and Ethnicity Religion Sexuality and Sex Social Development and Social Behavior Social Learning Theory Special Groups Statistics, Research Methods, and Measurement Substance Abuse Theories and Ideas About Development
ISBN: 1412904757Publication Date: 2005- Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by
This major reference work breaks new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals. Encyclopedic in breath, textbook in depth, Child Behavior and Development serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. Presented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions. Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development offers an extensive cross-referencing system that facilitates speedy search and retrieval of information.
ISBN: 9780387790619Publication Date: 2011
Routledge Handbook of Family Communication by
With a synthesis of research on issues key to understanding family interaction, as well as an analysis of many theoretical and methodological choices made by researchers studying family communication, the Handbook serves to advance the field by reframing old questions and stimulating new ones. The contents are comprised of chapters covering: theoretical and methodological issues influencing current conceptions of family; research and theory centering around the family life course communication occurring in a variety of family forms individual family members and their relationships dynamic communication processes taking place in families family communication embedded in social, cultural, and physical contexts. Key changes to the second edition include: updates throughout, providing a thorough and up-to-date overview of research and theory new topics reflecting the growth of the discipline, including chapters on "singles" as family members, emerging adults, and physiology and physical health. Highlighting the work of scholars across disciplines--communication, social psychology, clinical psychology, sociology, family studies, and others--this volume captures the breadth and depth of research on family communication and family relationships. The well-known contributors approach family interaction from a variety of theoretical perspectives and focus on topics ranging from the influence of structural characteristics on family relationships to the importance of specific communication processes.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks HQ519 .H36 2013ISBN: 9780415881982Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of Life-Span Development by
The handbook is an impressive collection of research studies and theories provided by knowledgeable contributors on life-span development from conception to old age.
ISBN: 9780826110794Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Birth Control by
The sociological, medical, and historical aspects of birth control in the twentieth century have been compiled in this unique, easy-to-use, and comprehensive resource. Objectively written and international in scope, this encyclopedia covers a variety of topics: biology and anatomy, birth control methods and devices, influential people and organizations, issues and debates, religious perspectives, legal issues, perspectives from other countries.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks HQ766 .R442 2000ISBN: 1573562556Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development by
This comprehensive and exhaustive reference work on the subject of education from the primary grades through higher education combines educational theory with practice, making it a unique contribution to the educational reference market. Issues related to human development and learning are examined by individuals whose specializations are in diverse areas including education, psychology, sociology, philosophy, law, and medicine. The book focuses on important themes in education and human development. Authors consider each entry from the perspective of its social and political conditions as well as historical underpinnings. The book also explores the people whose contributions have played a seminal role in the shaping of educational ideas, institutions, and organizations, and includes entries on these institutions and organizations. This work integrates numerous theoretical frameworks with field based applications from many areas in educational research.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks LB15 .E473 2005ISBN: 0765612682Publication Date: 2005
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of leading experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development. The combination of comprehensive coverage, clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format will ensure this book is essential reading for students, researchers, health care professionals, social workers, education professionals, parents and anyone interested in the welfare of children. F
Call Number: Hodges Stacks HQ767.9 .C352 2005ISBN: 0521651174Publication Date: 2005
- Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.