Research Guides: Child and Family Studies: Statistics & Datasets

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A current summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index of tables and full-text reports to statistical data produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
Statistical Abstracts Series
Demographic, social, and economic statistics for the United States from 1878-2012. More recent editions are available through ProQuest Statistical Abstract.
World Bank Open Data
Contains World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and additional statistical data files from the World Bank.

IPUMS-USA
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) consists of thirty-eight high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2004. The IPUMS assigns uniform codes across all the samples and brings relevant documentation into a coherent form to facilitate analysis of social and economic change. Registration required: users are automatically registered when they agree to all conditions for use.

IPUMS-CPS

IPUMS-CPS provides integrated data and documentation from the March Supplement of the Current Population Survey (CPS) from the period 1962 to 2005. The harmonized CPS data are designed to be compatible with decennial census data in IPUMS-USA. Registration required: users are automatically registered when they agree to all conditions for use.

IPUMS International

IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960. Names and other identifying information have been removed. The variables have been given consistent codes and have been documented to enable cross-national and cross-temporal comparisons. Registration required: users must submit abstract of research project when registering for IPUM-I approval.

Need More? Try the Dataset Libguide

Data Resource for Child & Adolescent Health State ranking maps comparing each state to the national average on key Child Health Indicators from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN).

Pew Research Center Social Trends Interactive|This site offers a variety of data visualization tools with varying degrees of interactivity. All resources are based on data they have gathered. One example is “Race in America: Tracking 50 years of Demographic Trends,” a tool that allows users to select a dimension upon which to build the chart and display the change over time by race. It also generates a table of the specified variable by year and race.

National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections, launched in 2004, promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making.

Child Trends Databank
Child Trends is the nation’s leading nonprofit research organization focused exclusively on improving the lives and prospects of children, youth, and their families.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption.

Childstats.gov
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (the Forum) published, America's Children in Brief: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2016. A working group of 23 Federal agencies, the Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect, analyze, and report data on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being.

National Data Anaylsis System (NDAS)
NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.

Kids Count Data Center
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.

Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.

Need More? Try the Statistics Libguide

Statistics on the Aging Population

AgingStats.gov
This report provides the latest data on the 41 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into six subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, health care, and environment.