Marketing & Advertising

AHAA - The Voice of Hispanic Marketing

From the U.S. Census Bureau, has both demographic and economic data. Select People from the left menu for the latest population data, then create data sets using the decennial (every 10 years) census or the annual, less detailed, American Community Survey.

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, an annual survey that measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey

This provides diverse resources and information on how to market to multicultural (ethnic and niche including LGBT) consumer markets.

Market intelligence on countries, product groups, and consumers from Euromonitor International. UT subscription covers market and economic statistics only.

Free Reports and Datasets are also available to download.

Detailed advertising rates, contact information, and circulation data for a variety of media types. Also includes demographic and lifestyle interests for counties and marketing areas (DMAs).

Zip Code Demographics

Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users. Remember to Sign-Out.

Using the Census Business Builder, you can find the demographics by state or by zip code.

Reference USA contains basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States.
Information includes name of business, address, telephone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume.

Call Number: HN90.P8 M58 2010
Description: Introduction -- The public arena -- Government and politics -- Science -- Religion -- Work and money -- Family and friends -- Race -- Personal outlook -- Sexual attitudes and behavior.

American Consumer Newsletter

Call Number: RA445 .A442 2010
Description: Addictions -- Aging -- Alternative medicine -- Attitudes toward health care -- Births -- Coverage and cost -- Deaths -- Disability -- Diseases and conditions -- Health care visits -- Hospital care -- Mental health -- Sexual attitudes and behavior -- Weight and exercise.
Presents data on health care consumers and provides a comprehensive look at the demand for health care. Examines the demographics of health care consumers and the services they use. Includes detailed health care spending data and the latest data on health care coverage.

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, two surveys: the quarterly Interview Survey & the Diary Survey. Both provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families & single consumers) characteristics.

Call Number: Ref. HB849.49 .R875 2012
An annual survey of consumer buying power with market, population, household, and retail sales data for the U.S., for states, and for counties. Also has market projections, buying power index, and effective buying income.

Call Number: Ref. HD9352.L5 2011
Available in paper only in Reference. The Liquor Handbook provides detailed information on annual distilled spirits sales and consumption. The 300-plus page volume offers detailed data on every spirits category, a ranking of the industrys top 150 brands, a breakdown of advertising expenditures by brand and company, supplier performance, category development indices, major metro market demographics and more. Each category section includes a 12-year history of consumption listed by state market.

Although this is a site by European Travel Commission, it has some demographic studies on e-commerce and internet usage of other countries including USA.

Market intelligence on countries, product groups, and consumer lifestyle around the world from Euromonitor International. UT subscription covers Industries, Economics and Consumers only.

A publication providing marketing analysis based upon data collected mainly from the federal government. Topics covered include education, health, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth. This publication is included in the Lexis-Nexis Academic database.

Call Number: HF5415.33.U6 A44 2011
Description: Ch 1. Attitude trends -- ch 2. Education trends -- ch 3. Health trends -- ch 4. Housing trends -- ch 5. Income trends -- ch 6. Labor force trends -- ch 7. Living arrangement trends -- ch 8. Population trends -- ch 9. Spending trends -- ch 10. Time use trends -- ch 11. Wealth trends.
Spending trends -- ch 10. Time use trends -- ch 11. Wealth trends.
Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.

Consumer Behavior 2017-2018 is the only resource that integrates the full spectrum of applied consumer psychology, demographics, and purchasing influences with major consumer surveys. The demographics chapters present valuable insight into 25 segments, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, Gay & Lesbian, Affluent, and other consumer groups.

The regular Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF) cross-sectional surveys are conducted every three years to provide detailed information on the finances of U.S. families. Data from the SCF are widely used, from analysis at the Federal Reserve and other branches of government to scholarly work at the major economic research centers.

Call Number: Ref. HD9372.W5 2011
Available in paper only in Reference. The Wine Handbook provides detailed information on wine sales and consumption trends. This title includes data on sales of leading domestic and imported brands, advertising expenditures by company and brand and supplier performance as well as information on pricing, distribution and major metro markets. Category analysis for table wine, sparkling wine, coolers, vermouth and others.