Skip to main content
Skip to content

Streaming Guide: Other Streaming Sources

This guide will provide information about and resources for streamed video at Hodges Library

Other Streaming Sources

There are many sites that offer freely streamed videos that can be very valuable resources.  Keep in mind that the quality of the image, the player controls, and the allowable usage for these streaming videos can vary.  Content may be added or removed without notice.  Some of the sites have advertising.

The University of Tennessee is not responsible for the content of these sites

To the right are the list of some of these sites. 

American Memory

American Memory provides free and open access through the internet to wrtitten and spoken word, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.  It is a digital record of American history and creativity.  Thes material, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resuoruce for education and lifelong learning"

 

 Several hundred early motion pictures can be found here. Some of the video collections are listed below:

• America at Work, America at Leisure:  Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
• American Variety Stage:  Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1916
• Before and After theGreat Earthquake and Fire:  Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
• Coca-Cola Advertising ~ Films ~ 1951-1999
• Inside an American Factory:  Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
• Last Days of a Presidetn:  Films of Mckinlley and the Pan-American Exposition, 1901
• Life of an early City:  Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
• Origins of American Animation
• Prosperity and Thrift:  The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
• Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
• Theodore Roosevelt:  His Life and Times on Film

American Rhetoric

American Rhetoric features include its Online Speech Bank that is a "database and index to 5,000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedins, lectures, debates, interviews" and other recorded media events.  It also includes sections containiing Top 100 Speeches, Rhetorical Figures in Sound, Movie Speeches, and others.

It depends on "fair use" for those items not in the public domanin.  The site is supported by advertising and maintained by a speech commincation professor.

Annenburg Media

Annenberg Media "uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools.  This mandate is carried out by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers."  It is part of The Annenberg Foundation. 

Not all titles listed on the site are available for streaming.  Many of the videos are closed captioned.

Archive of American Television

"Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation's Archive of American Television has conducted over 600 long-form videotaped interviews with the pioneers and legends of television.  The Archive's vision is to chronicle electronic media history as it evolves, whatever form it may take and make the interviews available worldwide"

These interviews can be browsed by, person, show, topic, or profession.

ARKive

ARKive contains a growing collection of over 100,000 photos and videos focusing on "the world's endangered animals, plants and fungi. - reveal(ing) what they look like, what makes them special and why we should protect them."  Brought to the viewer by the charity Wildscreen. Arkive is leading a 'virtual' conservaton effort - gathering together films photographs and audio recordings of world's species."  Attempting to be a place to preserve these type of materies that originate from commercial, specialist, and private collections and make them available for current use and future generations.

Searching is broken down by Species, Eco-region, Geography, Topics, etc.  The site also contains related educational resouces and games for students.

C-SPAN Video Library

"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational research, and archival uses.   Now over 222,000 hours of video is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.  All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online for free."The Video Library records all three C-SPAN networks seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day. Programs are extensively indexed, making the database of C-SPAN programming an unparalleled chronological resource."

Folkstreams

Folkstreams provides access to films "about American Root Cultures streamed with essays about traditions and filmmaking.  The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readins and inks to related websites."

Frontline

Frontline offers streamed acces to many of the documenary films from this award winning PBS public affairs series.

Interactive Archive / Moving Images

The Internet Archives' Moving Images Library offers many free movies, films, and videos.  "This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts," to World War II propaganda, "to cartoons and concerts." Many of these videos are available for free download.  Read the terms of use for each collection!

Two collections of note:

•  Prelinger Archives - Ephemeral collection (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films) between 1927 and 1987.
•  Open Source Movies - Interesting collection with many foreign language sub-collections.

Internet Archive is also an excellent source for digital formats in general:  Texts, Audio, Moving images, software, and archived web pages.  Read the terms of use for each collection!

Internet Movie Database

"The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is a great collection of information about: movies, television shows, actors, actresses, director's, trivia, filming locations, trivia, reviews, and much more.  While its strength is its database of information, it is also has links to movie trailers, full length films and television shows at other sites. It is easily searchable and very user friendly.  It is owned by Amazon.com.

Learners TV

Learners TV "is a comprehensive site providing thousands of downloadable Video Lectures, Live Online Tests, etc in the fields of Biology, Physics Chemistry, Mathematics, Computer Science, Engineering Medicine, Management and Accounting, Dentistry, Nursing Psychology, History, Language Training, Literature, Law etc FREE to its visitors...  This site provides free video and audio lectures of whole courses conducted by faculty from reputed universities around the world.  Science Animations provide students with fun and innovative ways of learning.  Free live timed online tests with instant feedback and explanations will help you refine your test taking skills.  Most of the materials offered are licensed by the respective institutes under a Creative Commons License"  

This looks like an interesting site.  However, "Learnerstv.com displays targeted advertisements based on personal information" and "may set and access learnerstv.com cookies on your computer."

Mike Wallace Interview, The

The Mike Wallace Interview has been made available by the University of Texas at Austin's Harry Ransom Center.  This show, in the late 50's, interviewed well known stars, political, and controversial figures of the day.  Such as: Steve Allen, Frank Lloyd Wright, Frank Reuther, Elenor Roosevelt, Senator James Eastland, Salvador Dali, Erich Fromm, etc.  65 of the interviews from the series are available.

The opening line by Mike Wallace for this show was "Whether you agree or disagree with what you will heare, we feel that none will deny the right of these views to be broadcast"

"Mike Wallace rose to prominence in 1956 with the New York City television interview program, Night-Beat which soon developed into the nationally televised prime-time program, The Mike Wallace Interview.  Well prepared with extensive research, Wallace asked probing questions of guests framed in tight close-ups.  The result was a series of compelling and reveling interviews with some of the most interesting and important people."

Movieclips

 Movieclips is a beta site that contains over 12,000 movie clips that several major movie studios are allowing people use without seeking permission or having to make a "fair use" arguement.   "You can search, find, view, discuss and share scenes from your favorite movies."  The Movieclips player can be embedded in any non commercial site such as: PowerPoint, Facebook, personal websites, etc.  Also links can be shared on  blogs, Twitter and other social media.  Search categories include "actor, title, genre, occasion, action, mood, charater, theme, setting, prop, and even dialogue."

Important:  While you should always read a sites "Terms of Use" please pay particular attention here.   It is a beta site so terms may change.

 

Nova

NOVA is the newly redesined beta site of NOVA ONLINE.  It is hopes to bring all of PBS's "most-watched prime-times science series on American Television" to this site.  There is a begining funder preroll at the begining of every NOVA video to help raise funding the project.  As with any beta, there may still be a few bugs. 

PBS Video

PBS Video offers streamed award winning national programing and locally produced shows such as Bill Moyers, NOVA, FRONTLINE, History Detectives, Nature, and many others.  This is the beta version of PBS Video, so the look and options may change.

You will need the latest version of Flash to view (click here for a free download)

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive "serves as a research facility for scholars of U.S. public policy. The Library's collection is a specialized one focused on American politics and history with special attention paid to the American presidency. The Library makes available a breadth of research material on the American presidency, both in print and digital form.

The core of the Library's print collection is made up of standard works on the American Presidency. Our collection includes complete collections of presidential papers; memoirs of presidential administrations; biographies and secondary scholarship on the presidency; and standard reference sources.

The Library's multimedia collection is a truly unique collection of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. The Library's digital archive on the American presidency is more than three terabytes in size and growing."

SnagFilms

SnagFilms.com is a website where you can watch full-length documentary films for free, "whether from established heavyweights or first-time filmmakers."  It contains a library of over 850 films and is growing.  Has "widgets" that let you take your favorite SnagFilms with you and create a "virtual movie theater" wherever you go online (webpages, blogs, Facebook, MySpace, etc.)

There is some advertisement.

Turner Classic Movies Database

TCMdb is the database for Turner Classic Movies and includes Biographies, Cast and Crew, Filmographies (with Synopsis), Photos and Archival Movie Poster Images, etc.

University Videos

University Videos' (by MicroSeach Corporation) website says it is a compilation of publicly available videos from the world's top universities and colleges into one online and mobile, fully-searchable database."  Valez, in School Library Journal, describes it as a curation of "academic videos and the metadata from a vast array of University YouTube channels, as well as TED and TEDx talks, scientific and cultural institutions like NASA and the Smithsonians's National Museum of Natural History, hospitals, research institutions, and such respected broadcast archives as Nova, the Science Channel and the Discovery Channel."  Captioning can depend on the University or College but all videos found through this portal do have interactive and searchable transcripts.  Access is free but availability of content can change.  Some content from The University of Tennessee - Knoxville can be found here in addition to their officially posted sites.

Veoh

Veoh is an online video service that "gives users the power to easily discover, watch and personalize their entertainment viewing experiences."  Veoh offers free access to TV and film studio content, independent productions, and user-generated videos on the Web.  Connects to sites offering series from CBS, ABC, Mtv Networks, Warner Bros., Sony Pictures, ESPN, and YouTube Clips with a discovery search engine.

Veoh has its own video web player that you may have to download.

Veoh is also available to be used on the iPhone and the iPod Touch.  Navigate to Veoh.com and it will route you to their iPhone/iPod Touch web application.

WGBH Open Vault: Media Library and Archives

WGBH Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA).  "  We provide online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.  The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom"  "It currently houses nearly 1 million audio, video film, and digital assets dating back to 1947."  

YouTube

"Founded in February 2005, YouTube is the leader in online video, and the premier destination to watch and share original videos worldwide through a web experience.  YouTube allows people to easily upload and share video clips on www.YouTube.com and across the Internet through websites, mobile devices, blogs, and email."

In 2006 YouTube was purchased by Google Inc.  "YouTube has struck numerous partnership deals with content providers such as CBS, BBC, Universal Music Group, Sony Music Group, Warner Music Group, NBA, The Sundance Channel and many more."

 

Click here for the University of Tennessee's YouTube Channnel

 

Click here for the University of Tennessee Library's YouTube Channel

 

For using YouTube in Blackboard please go to OIT's website at:

https://oit.utk.edu/instructional/strategies/toolkit/tools/Pages/youtube.aspx

 

Contact Information

Steven Milewski
Contact:
Hodges Library
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966

smilewsk@utk.edu

865 - 224 - 1200