Skip to main content

Women and the University of Tennessee (Special Collections): Resources

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history of women attending the University of Tennessee.

Digital Resources

Manuscript & Archives Collections

 

Commission for Women Records1970-2002 (AR.0047) (7 boxes)
This collection houses meeting minutes, reports, papers, notes, and records of awards documenting the activities of the University of Tennessee's Commission for Women from 1970 to 2002.

University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)

This collection houses papers, press clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee System, including campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.

Dean of Women Collection, 1897-1975 (AR.0345) 
This collection houses annual reports, papers, and other materials documenting the Dean of Women at the University of Tennessee.

East Tennessee Female Institute Journal of Trustees (MS.0088)

This journal outlines the proceedings of the trustees of the Knoxville Female Academy (later the East Tennessee Female Institute) from 1827 to 1907. 

Ossoli Circle (Knoxville) Yearbook and History Report (MS.3822)
The Ossoli Circle was the first women's club in Tennessee, formed on November 20, 1885, by Lizzie Crozier French (1851-1926). Intended to advance women's intellectual and moral development, it was named after intellectual and women's rights advocate Margaret Fuller Ossoli (1810-1850).

University of Tennessee Scrapbooks, 1919-1920 (AR.0477) 
This collection houses a scrapbook compiled by Harriette Locke Arnell (Farrar) documenting her time at the University of Tennessee (September 1919-June 1920).

Mildred Simpson Scrapbook, 1933-1979 (AR.0085) 
This collection houses a scrapbook compiled by Mildred Simpson documenting her time at the University of Tennessee (1937-1940).

Barbara Blount Research (AR.0602)
This collection houses Neal O'Steen's research into Barbara Blount, including articles from the Tennessee Alumnus and handwritten notes.

Rare Books & Facsimilies

New Directions for Today's Women: A Tennessee Statewide Program of Continuing Education for Women, 1973 (LC1489.4 T4.U5 1973)

Woman Neglected in Education and the Causes and Effects, 1886 (HQ1201 .V5)

To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee. 1794-1970 (LD5293.M594 1984)

University of Tennessee Record, University of Tennessee [Knoxville Campus]. 1898-1989 (LD5286.R3)

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website