General Special Collections Resources
This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history of women attending the University of Tennessee. The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:
- Special CollectionsThe Special Collections website provides information about how to access collections, request materials, and provides further instruction.
- Scout: Special Collections Online @ UTSCOUT is Special Collections' finding aid database. You can use SCOUT to access detailed information and find every manuscript and archive collection in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Tennessee.
- UT Libraries Digital CollectionsUT Libraries Digital Collections contain images, manuscripts, and audiovisual material related to East Tennessee and American history.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe DPLA provides online access to millions of books, images and other materials from libraries, archives and museums across the United States.
- Volunteer VoicesVolunteer Voices contains digital collections from libraries and other institutions across Tennessee.
- Trace: Tennessee Research and Creative ExchangeA digital archive of published and unpublished works by faculty, students, departments, programs, research centers, and institutes.
- UTK Library CatalogArchival research gets easier the more you know about your topic. Don't forget you can search the library catalog to find books and external databases that will be very helpful in your research.
To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.
Digital Resources
- Tennessee AlumnusEstablished in 1917, the university system's alumni magazine offers a range of feature articles representing all segments of UT.
- Tennessee Girl Student HandbookA student handbook aimed toward assisting new female students to campus life at the University of Tennessee, published by the Women's Student Government Association, 1930-1969.
Special Collections and University Archives
Special Collections
Contact:
121 Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.
Website
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.
Subjects: Special Collections and Archives