Text and Data Mining

Online communities generate massive volumes of natural language data and the social sciences continue to learn how to best make use of this new information and the technology available for analyzing it. Text Mining brings together a broad range of contemporary qualitative and quantitative methods to provide strategic and practical guidance on analyzing large text collections. This accessible book, written by a sociologist and a computer scientist, surveys the fast-changing landscape of data sources, programming languages, software packages, and methods of analysis available today. Suitable for novice and experienced researchers alike, the book will help readers use text mining techniques more efficiently and productively.

Topics spanning the varied disciplines of data science, machine learning, databases, and computational linguistics. Includes material on deep learning, graph models, mining social media, and errors and pitfalls in big data evaluation, Twitter sentiment analysis, and dependency parsing discussion, issues of document classification, information retrieval, clustering and organizing documents, information extraction, web-based data-sourcing, and prediction and evaluation.

Use this easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide to apply analytics to complicated and messy social data. This is your one-stop solution to fetching, storing, analyzing, and visualizing social media data. This book is for intermediate Python developers who want to engage with the use of public APIs to collect data from social media platforms and perform statistical analysis in order to produce useful insights from data. The book assumes a basic understanding of the Python Standard Library and provides practical examples to guide you toward the creation of your data analysis project based on social data. This practical, hands-on guide will help you learn everything you need to perform data mining for social media. Throughout the book, we take an example-oriented approach to use Python for data analysis and provide useful tips and tricks that you can use in day-to-day tasks.

Derive useful insights from your data using Python. Learn the techniques related to natural language processing and text analytics, and gain the skills to know which technique is best suited to solve a particular problem.
Text Analytics with Python teaches you both basic and advanced concepts, including text and language syntax, structure, semantics. You will focus on algorithms and techniques, such as text classification, clustering, topic modeling, and text summarization.
A structured and comprehensive approach is followed in this book so that readers with little or no experience do not find themselves overwhelmed. You will start with the basics of natural language and Python and move on to advanced analytical and machine learning concepts. You will look at each technique and algorithm with both a bird's eye view to understand how it can be used as well as with a microscopic view to understand the mathematical concepts and to implement them to solve your own problems.

If programming is magic then web scraping is surely a form of wizardry. By writing a simple automated program, you can query web servers, request data, and parse it to extract the information you need. The expanded edition of this practical book not only introduces you web scraping, but also serves as a comprehensive guide to scraping almost every type of data from the modern web. Part I focuses on web scraping mechanics: using Python to request information from a web server, performing basic handling of the server's response, and interacting with sites in an automated fashion. Part II explores a variety of more specific tools and applications to fit any web scraping scenario you're likely to encounter. Parse complicated HTML pages Develop crawlers with the Scrapy framework Learn methods to store data you scrape Read and extract data from documents Clean and normalize badly formatted data Read and write natural languages Crawl through forms and logins Scrape JavaScript and crawl through APIs Use and write image-to-text software Avoid scraping traps and bot blockers Use scrapers to test your website

From news and speeches to informal chatter on social media, natural language is one of the richest and most underutilized sources of data. Not only does it come in a constant stream, always changing and adapting in context; it also contains information that is not conveyed by traditional data sources. The key to unlocking natural language is through the creative application of text analytics. This practical book presents a data scientist's approach to building language-aware products with applied machine learning. You'll learn robust, repeatable, and scalable techniques for text analysis with Python, including contextual and linguistic feature engineering, vectorization, classification, topic modeling, entity resolution, graph analysis, and visual steering. By the end of the book, you'll be equipped with practical methods to solve any number of complex real-world problems. Preprocess and vectorize text into high-dimensional feature representations Perform document classification and topic modeling Steer the model selection process with visual diagnostics Extract key phrases, named entities, and graph structures to reason about data in text Build a dialog framework to enable chatbots and language-driven interaction Use Spark to scale processing power and neural networks to scale model complexity

A hands on guide to web scraping and text mining for bothbeginners and experienced users of R Introduces fundamental concepts of the main architecture of theweb and databases and covers HTTP, HTML, XML, JSON, SQL. Provides basic techniques to query web documents and data sets(XPath and regular expressions). An extensive set of exercises are presented to guide thereader through each technique. Explores both supervised and unsupervised techniques as well asadvanced techniques such as data scraping and text management. Case studies are featured throughout along with examples foreach technique presented. R code and solutions to exercises featured in thebook are provided on a supporting website.

The richly illustrated Interactive Web-Based Data Visualization with R, plotly, and shinyfocuses on the process of programming interactive web graphics for multidimensional data analysis. It is written for the data analyst who wants to leverage the capabilities of interactive web graphics without having to learn web programming. Through many R code examples, you will learn how to tap the extensive functionality of these tools to enhance the presentation and exploration of data. By mastering these concepts and tools, you will impress your colleagues with your ability to quickly generate more informative, engaging, and reproducible interactive graphics using free and open source software that you can share over email, export to pdf, and more. Key Features: Convert static ggplot2 graphics to an interactive web-based form Link, animate, and arrange multiple plots in standalone HTML from R Embed, modify, and respond to plotly graphics in a shiny app Learn best practices for visualizing continuous, discrete, and multivariate data Learn numerous ways to visualize geo-spatial data This book makes heavy use of plotly for graphical rendering, but you will also learn about other R packages that support different phases of a data science workflow, such as tidyr, dplyr, and tidyverse. Along the way, you will gain insight into best practices for visualization of high-dimensional data, statistical graphics, and graphical perception. The printed book is complemented by an interactive website where readers can view movies demonstrating the examples and interact with graphics. This link is to the open access version of the book online.

Beginning R, Second Edition is a hands-on book showing howto use the R language, write and save R scripts, read in data files, and writecustom statistical functions as well as use built in functions. This book showsthe use of R in specific cases such as one-way ANOVA analysis, linear andlogistic regression, data visualization, parallel processing, bootstrapping,and more. It takes a hands-on, example-based approach incorporating bestpractices with clear explanations of the statistics being done. It has beencompletely re-written since the first edition to make use of the latestpackages and features in R version 3. R is a powerful open-source language and programmingenvironment for statistics and has become the de facto standard for doing,teaching, and learning computational statistics.  R is both an object-oriented language and afunctional language that is easy to learn, easy to use, and completely free. Alarge community of dedicated R users and programmers provides an excellentsource of R code, functions, and data sets, with a constantly evolvingecosystem of packages providing new functionality for data analysis. R has alsobecome popular in commercial use at companies such as Microsoft, Google, andOracle. Your investment in learning R is sure to pay off in the long term as Rcontinues to grow into the go to language for data analysis and research. What You Will Learn: How to acquire and install R Hot to import and export data and scripts How to analyze data and generate graphics How to program in R to write custom functions Hot to use R for interactive statistical explorations How to conduct bootstrapping and other advancedtechniques

R and Data Mining introduces researchers, post-graduate students, and analysts to data mining using R, a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics. The book provides practical methods for using R in applications from academia to industry to extract knowledge from vast amounts of data. Readers will find this book a valuable guide to the use of R in tasks such as classification and prediction, clustering, outlier detection, association rules, sequence analysis, text mining, social network analysis, sentiment analysis, and more. Data mining techniques are growing in popularity in a broad range of areas, from banking to insurance, retail, telecom, medicine, research, and government. This book focuses on the modeling phase of the data mining process, also addressing data exploration and model evaluation. With three in-depth case studies, a quick reference guide, bibliography, and links to a wealth of online resources, R and Data Mining is a valuable, practical guide to a powerful method of analysis. Presents an introduction into using R for data mining applications, covering most popular data mining techniques Provides code examples and data so that readers can easily learn the techniques Features case studies in real-world applications to help readers apply the techniques in their work

Much of the data available today is unstructured and text-heavy, making it challenging for analysts to apply their usual data wrangling and visualization tools. With this practical book, you'll explore text-mining techniques with tidytext, a package that authors Julia Silge and David Robinson developed using the tidy principles behind R packages like ggraph and dplyr. You'll learn how tidytext and other tidy tools in R can make text analysis easier and more effective. The authors demonstrate how treating text as data frames enables you to manipulate, summarize, and visualize characteristics of text. You'll also learn how to integrate natural language processing (NLP) into effective workflows. Practical code examples and data explorations will help you generate real insights from literature, news, and social media. Learn how to apply the tidy text format to NLP Use sentiment analysis to mine the emotional content of text Identify a document's most important terms with frequency measurements Explore relationships and connections between words with the ggraph and widyr packages Convert back and forth between R's tidy and non-tidy text formats Use topic modeling to classify document collections into natural groups Examine case studies that compare Twitter archives, dig into NASA metadata, and analyze thousands of Usenet messages