About Data Sources
UT Libraries current students, staff, and faculty can access licensed data and datasets. Current users can also text and data mine licensed content with selected content providers. Freely available data sources and APIs are also available on the web. Please explore these sources to see what fits your needs. Contact a Librarian for additional help!
Data Sources
- China Census Datasets A collection of zipped census datasets (spreadsheets and/or shapefiles).
- China Data Online A collection of statistics about China.
- Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive Data archive covering economic, social, and political indicators of nations and empires of the world, including countries and empires that no longer exist. Select data goes back to 1815.
This link opens in a new window
- Data Planet Current social science datasets. Browse by subject, source, or location. Includes analysis tools and guides on working with data.
- EventStatus Corpus Data Available: Event Status Corpus 2017. A corpus designed to support the study of the temporal and aspectual properties of major civil unrest events from English and Spanish news articles annotated with temporal tags.
- ICMA Datasets International City/County Management Association provides customized data sets from their surveys for various years in certain subjects. Survey data is provided for County and Municipal forms of government.
- International Country Risk Guide Excel data file providing political risk ratings for 140 countries. Coverage from 1984 to 2011.
- International Terrorism : Attributes of Terrorist Events Coding on incidents of contemporary international terrorism from 1968 to 2021. Documentation is available in the ITERATE Codebook and includes Common File 1968-2018, Hostage File 1978-2005, Fate File 1978-1991, and Skyjack File 1978-1991.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research A large collection of public opinion poll data. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. When available, results charts and full datasets are available for download.
- SAGE Research Methods: Datasets A collection of practice datasets and instructional guides.
- Social Explorer Current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
- Sociometrics Library of data files from eight topically-based health and social science collections. Contains longitudinal datasets as well as original survey instruments.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Foreign Trade Data
The official source for U.S. export and import statistics.
2011 data also available as zip files. - U.S. Historical Datasets Business Dataset: Detailed business data from 1997-2019. Consumer Dataset: Detailed consumer data from 2006-2019, including real estate and mortgages, voter registration, consumer transactions, and offline subscriptions.
- Wharton Research Data Services Access to Audit Analytics, Capital IQ Transcripts, Standard & Poor's COMPUSTAT, Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), and Trade and Quote (TAQ) databases.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Libraries Licensed Content
The resources listed on this page may be text and data mined for academic scholarship or educational purposes. The list is organized by vendor/platform based on our UT license agreements with the vendor or publisher.
If you do not see a resource listed here, please contact us and we can investigate further. We will need time to review the license agreement and terms of use, so please plan accordingly. Carrying out automated text and data mining on a database that violates its terms of use is a violation of the University Libraries Electronic Resources Use Policy.
TDM Permitted Content
Adam Matthew
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with Adam Matthew. Adam Matthew requires a permission form be filled out and submitted before mining begins.
Contact: info@amdigital.co.uk
Cambridge University Press
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from Cambridge University Press's Terms of Use.
Contact: directcs@cambridge.org
Clarivate Analytics
Web of Science's production team can create a custom data set based on set variables for a fee (contact librarian for additional help). Within Web of Science, you can use the Analyze tool to analyze a subset of data within the interface.
Elsevier
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with Elsevier and Elsevier's TDM Policy. Elsevier has a Developers Portal where you register to use their API Key. After registration you must request elevated privileges to receive full access to their data. There is a 20,000 records per week rate limit.
Emerald
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with Emerald Publishing. Emerald asks that you notify them before conducting any TDM activities on www.emerald.com/insight to allow Emerald to manage server capacity. This will allow them to enable you to complete your activity without technical obstacles and to maintain access for all Emerald users.
Contact: permissions@emeraldinsight.com
Gale
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our license agreement with Gale.
JSTOR
TDM of JSTOR content is permissible according to our License Agreement with some restrictions. Data for Research (https://www.jstor.org/dfr/) is JSTOR's TDM service. Datasets must be requested through JSTOR and are processed by JSTOR. Datasets are free and may include data for up to 25,000 documents. See their site for more info on creating datasets, specifications, requests, and sample datasets.
Oxford University Press
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with Oxford University Press.
Contact: Data.Mining@oup.com
Project Muse
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with Project Muse. Project Muse requests that you contact them before beginning mining.
ProQuest
Text and data mining of our subscribed ProQuest content is available through ProQuest TDM Studio. Simply create an account and begin building datasets.
SAGE
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with SAGE . See TDM Info for request limits and other API information.
Springer Nature
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with SpringerNature. However, there are restrictions on storage of data. Springer Nature has a TDM Attachment to their License Agreement. Contact your librarian for more information.
Taylor and Francis
Experience with Taylor and Francis shows that they are willing to accept TDM of their products when informed of the research involved and time frame. Contact your librarian for help.
University of Chicago Press
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from University of Chicago Press's Terms and Conditions. Specifically requests for user to contact them for approval.
Wiley
Permission provided for non-commercial educational and scholarly TDM from our License Agreement with Wiley.
Contact: TDM@wiley.com
TDM Not Permitted
EBSCO
TDM of EBSCO content is not permissible at this time.
Newsbank
TDM of NewsBank content is strictly prohibited in our License Agreement. Mining of NewsBank content will have an additional cost attached to it and may require additional licensing. Please contact your librarian for more information.
The main idea of the API is that you construct HTTP requests using the parameters described in the search endpoints documentation, and get back your results in JSON format. Some people may choose to just put together their own scripts using the appropriate tools for their language, such as Python requests and passing the response text to be loaded using standard library JSON processing tools. Another option is to look around the community for more specialized tools such as the twitteR package for R. You can also review data dictionaries for tweets, users, and entities (contextual information such as mentions and hashtags).
