STRIDE: Recruitment & Retention

Cynthia Sims, 2006
Research on recruiting and retaining diverse faculty in higher education includes a traditional definition of diversity, mainly intergroup differences. Intragroup differences are omitted, in spite of research on intraracial diversity among minorities. As institutions of higher education seek to recruit and retain minority faculty, they must consider broadening the scope of diversity. This literature review examines the need to link intragroup diversity to the body of research on diverse faculty in higher education.

Edward A. Delgado-Romero, Angela Nichols Manlove, Joshua D. Manlove, & Carlos A. Hernandez, 2007
This article deals with controversial issues in recruitment of Latino/a faculty in higher education in the United States. The authors present a hypothetical faculty hiring case scenario that they follow throughout the manuscript. Through this case scenario, they examine aspects of Latino/a identity, Latino/a demographics in higher education, and the interaction of Latino/a faculty dimensions that interact with faculty search committee expectations. They highlight implications for hiring and retention.

Mary Deane Sorcinelli, 1994
The author provides research‐based and practical advice on how to foster the career development of new and junior faculty. She first reviews who the new and junior faculty are and highlights research findings on the work and career experiences of these faculty members. She then describes model programs and successful strategies to support the newest members of the professoriat, including exemplary programs for orientation, mentoring, research, and teaching development.

Marybeth Gasman, Jessica Kim, & Thai-Huy Nguyen, 2011
In this study, we use the case study methodology to examine the faculty recruiting and hiring practices within a school of education at a highly selective private research university. The research question was, what are the practices and policies at the school of education that either promote or detract from recruiting and hiring of faculty of color? In order to answer this question, we conducted a review of the extant literature pertaining to the recruitment of faculty of color to research universities, looking for specific strategies that are considered to have a substantial impact on this practice. Then we collected and analyzed institutional data on faculty recruitment practices in one school of education for the past 5 years, looking at applicant pools, advertising strategies, and hiring practices. Lastly, we conducted qualitative interviews with past search committee chairs, school administrators, and recently hired faculty of color to understand the decision-making processes as they pertain to general faculty recruitment as well as hurdles to, and incentives for, recruiting faculty of color. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2016 APA, all rights reserved) (Source: journal abstract)

Carroll-Ann Trotman, & Betsy E. Brown, 2005
For many higher education institutions, the recruitment and retention of faculty are major concerns. In this article, we present
preliminary results from Phase I of an ongoing research project
that aims to investigate factors that are important to the recruitment and retention of early and mid-career faculty at the
University of North Carolina (UNC). In Phase I of the project, indepth telephone interviews were conducted with a sample of
faculty from the 16 UNC campuses and responses were collected
on a variety of factors that may be important to the recruitment
and retention of faculty. Most of the themes emerging from the
interviews echo those identified in other research studies.

Fred Piercy, Valerie Giddings, Katherine Allen, Benjamin Dixon, Peggy Meszaros, & Karen Joest, 2005
We report on a series of pilot programs that we developed and carried out to support the success and satisfaction of new faculty, particularly faculty of color. We hope that others committed to retaining and supporting underrepresented faculty can apply our learning from this pilot project, as a whole or in part.

Sandra Daley, Deborah L. Wingard, & Vivian Reznik, 2006
Although several studies have outlined the need for and benefits of diversity in academia, the number of underrepresented minority (URM) faculty in academic health centers remains low, and minority faculty are primarily concentrated at the rank of assistant professor. In order to increase the diversity of the faculty of the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) School of Medicine, the UCSD National Center for Leadership in Academic Medicine, in collaboration with the UCSD Hispanic Center of Excellence, implemented a junior faculty development program designed in part to overcome the differential disadvantage of minority faculty and to increase the academic success rate of all faculty. Junior faculty received counseling in career and research objectives; assistance with academic file preparation, introduction to the institutional culture; workshops on pedagogy and grant writing; and instrumental, proactive mentoring by senior faculty. After implementation of the program, the retention rate of URM junior faculty in the school of medicine increased from 58% to 80% and retention in academic medicine increased from 75% to 90%. A junior faculty development program that integrates professional skill development and focused academic career advising with instrumental mentoring is associated with an increase in the retention of URM faculty in a school of medicine.

EAB Academic Affairs Forum, 2017
EAB Acadmic Affairs Forum. (2017). Instilling Equity and Inclusion in Departmental Practices: Guiding Faculty Recruitment and Retention

Daryl G Smith, Caroline S Turner, Nana Osei-Kofi, & Sandra Richards, 2004
While campuses engage in efforts to diversify their faculties, these efforts are perhaps the least successful of diversity initiatives. This study investigates the conditions under which faculty are hired. The findings highlight the significance of intentional strategies for the hiring of underrepresented faculty of color.

Jacqui Welham, Nikki Booth, Clare Robson, & Fosters Solicitors of Norwich, 2009
Legislation governing employee welfare is becoming increasingly strict, and nowhere is this more prevalent than in dealing with a diverse workplace. Every organisation contains employees who can be considered diverse. Diverse employee can include pregnant women, people with illnesses, young and old workers and those with disabilities. In today's society, where more people with disability and illness are entering the workplace, it is essential for both the organisation and the employee that managers are able to deal effectively with a diverse workplace. Tolley's Managing a Diverse Workplace provides unrivalled guidance on complying with the legislation and regulations specific to the management of diverse employees. Aimed at both HR and health and safety managers, this unique handbook comprehensively covers the key legislation that affects this important area. Other important features include: - Legislation, regulation and the employer - Legislation, regulation and health & safety - Managing the employment aspects of diverse employees - Managing the health & safety of diverse employees - Management systems / tools - Managing changing relationships - The future of diverse employees With corporate social responsibility being such a hot topic, the effective management of diverse employees is high on most companies' agendas. This one-stop reference guide will ensure that organisations are sufficiently equipped to identify those workers considered to be at risk, and manage these risks to their mutual benefit.

Claudia Goldin, & Cecilia Rouse, 2000
A change in the audition procedures of symphony orchestras--adoption of "blind" auditions with a "screen" to conceal the candidate's identity from the jury--provides a test for sex-biased hiring. Using data from actual auditions, in an individual fixed-effects framework, we find that the screen increases the probability a woman will be advanced and hired. Although some of our estimates have large standard errors and there is one persistent effect in the opposite direction, the weight of the evidence suggests that the blind audition procedure fostered impartiality in hiring and increased the proportion women in symphony orchestras.

Uma M Jayakumar, Tyrone C Howard, Walter Recharde Allen, & June C Han, 2009
A study of the influences of institutional and environmental factors on the retention of faculty of color in higher education is presented. A subsample of faculty of color is taken from a 2001 national survey of teaching faculty data, and cross-tabulation analyses is performed to explore the relationships between faculty intent to leave the academy and racial/ethnic identity, overall job satisfaction and racial climate. The analyses suggest that retention rates could be improved by increasing overall job satisfaction. The results indicate that faculty of color may overcome a negative racial climate and suggests steps to improve faculty retention.

Elizabeth Yost, Vicki Winstead, Sheila R Cotton, & Donna M Handley, 2013
This study addresses the dual issues of recruiting and retaining female faculty in the academic departments of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). The purpose of the study is to identify factors that are important to female graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty as they consider their career options in academia. We examine why so many women choose not to enter academia after their graduate career. We focus on women in small STEM departments as these departments may have important differences compared to larger ones. The nationwide survey focuses on universities that received National Science Foundation ADVANCE Institutional Transformation awards. These institutions should be highly motivated to recruit and retain the new generation of academic STEM scholars. Results from this study suggest that respondents are most interested in having time and freedom to conduct research, finding a "fit" within the department and school, and fairness or transparency in institutional procedures. Universities that implement these policies and begin to address the academic climate may find themselves in a better position to recruit and retain women, particularly in the STEM fields. (journal abstract from Begell House Digital Library>

Susan M. De Luca & Ernesto R. Escoto, 2012
Retaining and supporting Latino faculty is a challenge for many colleges and universities in the United States. This article focuses on the unique experiences faced by Latino junior faculty, when power differentials between senior faculty are most prominent in their career, and examines the cultural norms of personalismo, familismo, and collectivism and their professional experiences. Recommendations are made regarding how organizational policies can promote a more inclusionary environment for Latino and Latina faculty members.

Marie Antoinette English, 1991
The purpose for this study was to gain insight into the major reasons for non-completion of the bachelors degree of African American students attending a predominantly white university. The reasons given were the students' perceptions regarding reasons for college leaving. Clearly, statistics indicate that a significant number of African American students graduate from high schools each year and are admitted to predominantly white college and University campus, but a significant number are not graduated. In an attempt to assess directly from African American students the major reasons for non-completion of the degree, a survey questionnaire was administered. The sample was taken from students attending a predominantly white University with a declared major in African American studies. The questionnaire allowed for five major categories relevant to reasons for leaving college. The categories were: (1) Personal, (2) Academic; (3) Institutional; (4) Financial; and (5) Employment. A series of statements relevant to each category allowed for students' responses as a "major," "minor," or "not a reason" for college leaving. Five research questions were investigated in the study with regards to the survey data explaining the students' perception of major reasons for leaving college. Findings revealed that the personal category received the highest percentage of reasons for college leaving with the response of "felt racial/ethnic tension" receiving the most responses of "major" reason. The next highest rated categories in descending order with regards to major reasons for college leaving were "academic," "institutional," "financial" and "employment." The conclusions of this study in general are supported by similar findings in other research studies. The cultural experiences, socioeconomic backgrounds and special needs of African American students have perhaps not fully been understood. Although students attrition for African Americans is much greater than that of White Americans, these students can compete and complete in predominantly White institutions with the support and encouragement of administrators, faculty, staff and peers.

Deborah Daminski & Cheryl Geisler, 2012
Individual assistant professors (a total of 2966 faculty) hired in science and engineering since 1990 at 14 United States universities were tracked from time of hire to time of departure by using publicly available catalogs and bulletins. Results of survival analysis showed that the chance that any given faculty member will be retained over time is less than 50%; the median time to departure is 10.9 years. Of all those who enter as assistant professors, 64.2% were promoted to associate professor at the same institution. Overall, men and women are retained and promoted at the same rate. In mathematics, however, faculty leave significantly earlier than other disciplines, and women leave significantly sooner than men, 4.45 years compared with 7.33 years.

Martin Finkelstein, Valerie Martin Conley, & Jack H. Schuster, 2016
The broad societal movement to diversify the American faculty over the past quarter century has reshaped the academic profession in many ways, but more work remains to be done. While underrepresented minorities held 12.7% of faculty positions in 2013, up from 8.6% in 1993, they held only 10.2% of tenured positions. Similarly, women in 2013 held 49.2% of all faculty positions, up from 38.6% in 1993, but just 37.6% of tenured positions. This report’s authors break down the proportion of women, African Americans, Latinos and Native Americans in U.S. faculty positions by appointment type, shedding new light on recent trends.