Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Studies (Special Collections): Women & Religion

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to women in East Tennessee from the late 18th century to the present.

Manuscript Resources

group portrait of Mount Zion Baptist Church Women's Organization. A large group of black women and two black man in formal attire.
Mount Zion Baptist Church Women's Organization in Knoxville, TN circa 1900. Image via Volunteer Voices.

Margaret C. McClung Scrapbook and Photograph, 1841-1896 (MS.1173)
The photocopied scrapbook in this collection consists primarily of newspaper clippings that Margaret C. McClung accumulated during the 1860s and 1870s. Among the subjects documented are Knoxville Society, moral issues, etiquette, religion, and women's roles in the home and society.

Julia Francis Hammond Spring Diary, 1852-1878 (MS.1316)
A diary kept by Julia Frances Hammond Spring, the wife of B. F. Spring of Pikeville, Tennessee. The album covers a period from 1852-1878. Much in the diary is of a religious nature, regarding the Methodist Church, mentions of preachers, and sermons.

Norbert F. Riedl Collection, 1965-1975 (MS.0954)
An anthropologist who studied Southern Appalachian folk culture, the collection of Norbert Riedl includes research files on such topics as clothing and costume, food and cooking, games and recreation, legends, medicines and remedies, music, quilting, snake handling, and religious customs. This collection also includes information on rituals, religion, and witchcraft in Appalachia.

Eleanor Dickinson Collection, 1970-1999 (MS.2068)
The collection includes a catalog, page proofs, a paper, a price list, resumes, reviews, transcripts, and more primarily related to Dickinson's book and exhibit on Southern Appalachian revival meetings appropriately entitled Revival.

Rare Books & Facsimiles

The Young Lady's Sunday Book: A Practical Manual of the Christian Duties of Piety, Benevolence and Self-Government. 1836 (BJ1610 .Y685)

Woman in Sacred History: A Series of Sketches Drawn from Scriptural, Historical, and Legendary Sources. 1874 (BS575 .S78 1874)

Condition of the Work of the Woman's Synodical Missionary Society of Tennessee, April, 1881. 1881 (BV3700 .W65)

The Abiding Presence of Christianity at the University of Tennessee. 1941 (LD5296.2 .H4 1941)

History of the Woman's Foreign Missionary Society, M. E. Church, South. 1904 (BV2550 .B88 1904)

In Royal Service: The Mission Work of Southern Baptist Women. 1913 (BV3703 .H4)

The History of the Episcopal Churchwomen in the Diocese of Tennessee. 1981 (BX5968 .J46 1981)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website