Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Studies (Special Collections): Women Artists

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to women in East Tennessee from the late 18th century to the present.

Visual and Performance Artists

pencil Sketch by Anna Catherine Wiley of a sitting woman.
Pencil sketch of a woman by Anna Catherine Wiley, circa 1895

Manuscript Resources

Anna Catherine Wiley Sketches Collection, undated (MS.1287)
This collection is composed of approximately 150 sketches by Anna Catherine Wiley drawn during the early 20th Century.

Grace Moore Papers, 1837-1991 (MS.3666)
This collection details Grace Moore’s career as an opera singer and actress. Correspondence, notes, photographs, concert programs, movie and play scripts, along with newspaper clippings, fan club publications, vinyl performance records and a series of scrapbooks that follow her life, career, and death are included.

Margaret Graeme Canning Collection, 1870-2001 (MS.2114)
This collection is composed of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, opera programs, awards and certificates of achievement, reel-to-reel audio tapes, correspondence, publications, and photographs dealing with the lives of opera singer, Margaret Graeme Canning and her mother, Mary Margaret Hoskins Canning.

Daphne Townsend Movie and Music Photograph Collection, circa 1945-1960 (MS.2480)
This collection contains headshots and stills of many movie and music stars. Included in the collection are photographs of such stars as Doris Day, Veronica Lake, and Angela Lansbury.

Eleanor Dickinson Collection, 1970-1999 (MS.2068)
The collection includes a catalog, page proofs, a paper, a price list, resumes, reviews, transcripts, and more primarily related to Dickinson's book and exhibit on Southern Appalachian revival meetings appropriately entitled Revival.

Rare Books & Facsimiles

Players of the Day: A Series of Portraits in Colour of Theatrical Celebrities of the Present Time. 1903 (PN2597 .P63)

You're Only Human Once. 1944 (ML420 .M57 A3)

The Victorian Painter's World. 1990 (ND467.5 .V52 G55 1990b)

Walking with Garbo: Conversations and Recollections. 1991 (PN2778. G3 D38 1991)

Bessie Smith. 1997 (ML420. S667 K39 1997)

Out of the Black Patch: The Autobiography of Effie Marquess Carmack, Folk Musician, Artist, and Writer. 1999 (CT275. C2976 A3 1999)

Authors

Portrait of Frances Hodgson Burnett. she is posing and leaning on her hand that rests agains the wall in a white flow-y dress.
Portrait of Frances Hodgson Burnett, circa 1895, by Herbert Barraud. Image via National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution.

Manuscript Resources

Will Allen Dromgoole Papers, 1831-1992 (MS.0201)
This collection houses manuscripts, newspaper clippings, correspondence, journals, photographs, legal agreements, and other materials documenting Will Allen Dromgoole's literary work and her family.

Frances Hodgson Burnett Letters, 1915 (MS.0945)
This collection includes five short letters written by author Frances Hodgson Burnett. In them, she discusses photographs of her Washington house, requests a book of poems, agrees to be named as a patron of an upcoming reading, responds to a request for a book, and quotes a section from her novel, That Lass o' Lowrie's.

Nell Thompson Miller Collection, 1920-1982 (MS.0957)
The collection contains poetry manuscripts, prose manuscripts, correspondence, clippings, and other materials documenting the life and career of Nell Thompson Miller.

Evelyn Scott Collection, 1920-1980 (MS.2015)
This collection houses correspondence, financial documents, legal documents, manuscripts, scrapbooks, photographs, and other papers documenting the lives of authors Evelyn Scott and John Metcalfe, Scott's mother, Maude Dunn, and Scott's friend and biographer, Robert Welker.

Sarah Ricketts Collection of Jane Merchant Material, 1937-1992 (MS.2057)
The Sarah Ricketts Collection contains materials collected while researching and writing A Window on Eternity, the biography of inspirational poet Jane Merchant, who suffered from the incapacitating disease Osteogenesis Imperfecta.

Laura Thornburgh Collection, 1926-1946 (MS.0195)
Correspondence, manuscripts, articles, news clippings, pamphlets, and books concerning Laura Thornburgh and her book, The Great Smoky Mountains.

Jane Merchant Literary Manuscripts Collection, 1954-1963 (MS.0333)
The manuscripts of poet Jane Merchant's first six books of inspirational prose and poetry.

Barbara Cueter Collection, circa 1970s-2000s (MS.3300)
This collection houses original letters, poems, photographs, and drawings documenting Barbara Cueter's historical fiction memoir entitled Sand Against the Wind. Additionally, this collection contains the notes and drafts that Cueter created while writing and editing the book.

Rare Books

The American Female Poets: With Biographical and Critical Notes. 1849 (PS.589 .M3 1849)

Women of the South Distinguished in Literature. 1866 (F208 .F8 1866)

The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas. 1933 (PS3537 .T323 Z463 1933)

The Madwoman in the Attic: The Woman Writer and the Nineteenth-Century Literary Imagination. 1979 (PR115. G5)

Flannery O'Connor's South. 1993 (PS3565 .C57 Z63 1993)

Listen Here: Women Writing in Appalachia. 2003 (PS554 .L57 2003)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website