Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Studies (Special Collections): Home

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to women in East Tennessee from the late 18th century to the present.

What's in this Guide?

black and white photograph of An African-American woman smokes a pipe while standing in a yard surrounded by hens, a rooster, and a duck next to a house and a shed.This research guide identifies Special Collections materials related to women in East Tennessee from the late 18th century to the present.

The photograph on the left is of an African American woman standing in a yard smoking tobacco and surrounded by chickens. From the Virginia P. Moore Digital Collection. 

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to women in East Tennessee and their history. Combining terms with 'woman' or 'women' will help locate more narrow search results.

  • American literature
  • American authors
  • college students
  • United States history 
  • societies and clubs
  • education
  • education 
  • suffrage 
  • woman
  • artist
  • religion
  • women

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Special Collection Resources for Women in East TN

General Information

The History of Women, from their Earliest Antiquity, to the Present Time. 1782 (HQ1121 .A4 1782)

Female Biography; or, Memoirs of Illustrious and Celebrated Women, of All Ages and Countries. 1803 (CT3202 .H35 1803)

Lives of Celebrated Women. 1844 (CT3202 .G65)

The Woman Movement. 1912 (HQ1154 .K4 1912)

In Tennessee and the Southeast

Some Representative Women of Tennessee. 1902 (F435 .G54)

Women's Work in Tennessee. 1916 (HQ1438.T2 T4)

Biographies of Representative Women of the South, 1861-[1938]. 1920-1938 (CT3260 .C58)

Famous Women of Tennessee and Literary Landmarks of the Volunteer State. 1951 (HQ1438.T2 H37)

Legal Status of Women in Tennessee. 1975 (KF390.W6 L43)

Tennessee Women, Past and Present. 1977 (HQ1438.T2 T44)

Tennessee Woman: An Infinite Variety. 1993 (HQ1438.T2 D94 1993)

More than Petticoats: Remarkable Tennessee Women. 2000 (CT3260.S29 2000)

Tennessee Women: Their Lives and Times. 2009  (CT3262.T2 T46 2009)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website