Skip to Main Content

Rock and Popular Music: Print Resources

Resources for research in rock and popular music.

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

M1630.18 Popular music collections: printed music
ML3534; ML3545; ML3561 General histories
ML420 Biographies, artist
ML421 Biographies, groups

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

CHRISTIAN ROCK MUSIC
DOO-WOP (MUSIC)
FOLK-ROCK MUSIC
GRUNGE MUSIC
HEAVY METAL (MUSIC)
NEW WAVE MUSIC
PSYCHEDELIC ROCK MUSIC
PUNK ROCK MUSIC
RAP (MUSIC)
REGGAE MUSIC
ROCK MUSIC
ROCK MUSIC, 1951-1960; ROCK MUSIC, 1961-1970, etc. by decade
ROCK GROUPS
ROCK MUSICIANS
ROCKABILLY MUSIC

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: Ref. ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)

Bibliographies

Where’s That Tune?: An Index To Songs in Fakebooks by Goodfellow, W.
Call Number: Ref ML128.P63 G66 1990
A Century of American Popular Music: 2000 Best-loved and Remembered Songs (1899-1999) by Jasen, D.
Call Number: Ref ML128.P63 J37 2002
Popular Music since 1955: A Critical Guide to the Literature by Taylor, P.
Call Number: Ref ML128.P63 T39 1985
Rap Music in the 1980s: A Reference Guide. by McCoy, J.
Call Number: Ref ML128.R28 M3 1992
Rock Music Scholarship: An Interdisciplinary Bibliography by Gatten, J.
Call Number: Ref ML128.R6 G37 1995
The Popular Music Teaching Handbook: An Educator’s Guide to Music-Related Print Resources by Cooper, B. Lee.
Call Number: Ref ML3470 .C66 2004
Popular music studies : a select international bibliography by Shepherd, J.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P63 P67 1997
Popular music : a reference guide by Iwaschkin, R.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P63 I95 1986

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Larkin, C.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 G84 2006 v.1-10
The A to X of Alternative Music by Taylor, S.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 T38 2004
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip-Hop Culture by Bynoe, Y.
Call Number: Ref ML102.R27 B96 2006
Singer-Songwriters: Pop Music’s Performer-Composers from A to Zevon by DiMartino, D.
Call Number: Ref. ML105 .D6 1994
Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound by Hoffmann, F., ed.
Call Number: Ref ML102.S67 E5 2005
Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture by Cogan, B.
Call Number: Ref ML102.R6 C64 2006
International Who’s Who in Popular Music
Call Number: Ref ML106.G7 W42
The Book of Metal: The Most Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Metal Music Ever Created by Ingham, C.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.R6 I54 2002
The Unofficial Encyclopedia of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame by Talevski, N.
Call Number: Ref ML102.R6 T3 1998
Encyclopedia of indie rock by Smith, K. L.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.R6 S63 2008
Encyclopedia of heavy metal music by Phillips, W. and Cogan, B.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P63 G65 1995
Encyclopedia of punk music and culture by Cogan, B.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.R6 C64 2006
Icons of hip hop : an encyclopedia of the movement, music, and culture by Hess, M.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.R27 .I26 2007
Encyclopedia of rap and hip-hop culture by Bynoe, Y.
Call Number: Ref. ML102.R27 B96 2006
Number one in heaven : the heroes who died for rock 'n' roll by Simmonds, J.
Call Number: Ref. ML102 .R6 N85 2006
All music guide to hip-hop : the definitive guide to rap & hip-hop by Bogdanov, V.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.R27 A45 2003

Discographies

The Rockin’ ’50s: The People Who Made the Music by Helander, B.
Call Number: Ref ML156.4.R6 H45 1998
The rockin' '60s : the people who made the music by Helander, Brock
Call Number: ML156.4.R6 H46 1999
The Great Rock Discography by Strong, M.
Call Number: Ref ML156.4.R6 S8 2004
Hit singles : top 20 charts from 1954 to the present day by McAleer, A.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4 .P6 M42 2007
Rock song index : the 7500 most important songs of the rock and roll era, 1944-2000 by Pollock, B.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.R6 P65 2005
Joel Whitburn's top pop singles 1955-2002. by Whitburn, J.
Call Number: Ref. ML156.4.P6 W496 2003
SongCite : an index to popular songs by Goodfellow, W.
Call Number: Ref. ML128.P63 G65 1995
SongCite : an index to popular songs. Supplement I by Goodfellow, W.

Histories and Chronologies

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History
Call Number: Ref ML3534.G754 2006 v.1-6

Select Print Resources

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:

Rock movers & shakers by Rees, D.
Call Number: ML156.4.P6 W53
Top rhythm & blues records, 1949-1971. by Whitburn, J.
Call Number: ML156.4.P6 W53
Good Rockin’ Tonight: Sun Records and the Birth of Rock ‘n’ Roll by Escott, C.
Call Number: ML424.S85 E83 1991
Apostles of Rock: The Splintered World of Contemporary Christian Music by Howard, J.
Call Number: ML3187.5 .H68 1999
The Cambridge Companion to Pop and Rock by Frith, S.
Call Number: ML3470 .C36 2001
Goin’ Back to Memphis: A Century of Blues, Rock ‘n’ Roll, and Glorious Soul by Dickerson, J.
Call Number: ML3470 .D52 2000
Taking Popular Music Seriously: Selected Essays by Frith, S.
Call Number: ML3470 .F7465 2007
Frock Rock: Women Performing Popular Music by Bayton, M.
Call Number: ML3492 .B39 1998
Jazz Rock: A History by Nicholson, S.
Call Number: ML3506 .N52 1998
Doowop: The Chicago Scene by Pruter, R.
Call Number: ML3527 .P78 1996
Hip Hop Culture by Price, E. G.
Call Number: ML3531 .P75 2006
Understanding Rock ‘n’ Roll: Popular Music in Britain 1955-1964. by Bradley, D.
Call Number: ML3534 .B688 1992
Rock Culture in Liverpool: Popular Music in the Making by Cohen, S.
Call Number: ML3534 .C63 1991
Punk by Colegrave, S.
Call Number: ML3534 .C638 2001
Expression in Pop-rock Music: Critical and Analytical Essays by Everett, W.
Call Number: ML3534 .E985 2008
In Garageland: Rock, Youth, and Modernity by Fornas, J.
Call Number: ML3534 .F67513 1995
I Wanna Be Me: Rock Music and the Politics of Identity by Gracyk, T.
Call Number: ML3534 .G69 2001
Noise/Music: A History by Hegarty, P.
Call Number: ML3534 .H43 2007
Sixties Rock: Garage, Psychedelic, and Other Satisfactions by Hicks, B.
Call Number: ML3534 .H53 1999
Living through Pop by Blake, A.
Call Number: ML3534 .L594 1999
Flashbacks: Eyewitness Accounts of the Rock Revolution by Lydon, M.
Call Number: ML3534 .L88 2003
Ranters & Crowd Pleasers: Punk in Pop Music by Marcus, G.
Call Number: ML3534 .M362 1993
Listening to the Future: The Time of Progressive Rock by Martin, B.
Call Number: ML3534 .M412 1998
Rock, the Primary Text: Developing a Musicology of Rock by Moore, A.
Call Number: ML3534 .M66 1993
Rock Music in Performance by Pattie, D.
Call Number: ML3534 .P3697 2007
Progressive Rock Reconsidered by Holm-Hudson, K.
Call Number: ML3534 .P76 2002
Death Metal Music: The Passion and Politics of a Subculture by Purcell, N.
Call Number: ML3534 .P91 2003
Reading Rock and Roll: Authenticity, Appropriation, Aesthetics by Dettmar, K.
Call Number: ML3534 .R3844 1999
Rock Over the Edge: Transformations in Popular Music Culture by Beebe, R.
Call Number: ML3534 .R6336 2002
Rocking the State: Rock Music and Politics in Eastern Europe and Russia by Ramet, S.
Call Number: ML3534 .R6384 1994
A Time to Rock: A Social History of Rock and Roll. by Szatmary, D.
Call Number: ML3534 .S96 1996
Running with the Devil : power, gender, and madness in heavy metal music by Walser, R.
Call Number: ML3534 .W29 1993
Girl Groups, Girl Culture: Popular Music and Identity in the 1960s by Warwick, J.
Call Number: ML3534 .W35 2007
The Space between the Notes: Rock and the Counter-Culture. by Whiteley, S.
Call Number: ML3534 .W555 1992