This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP+IIMP Full Text) – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
A collection of selected scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Most titles do not include the most recent 3-5 years. For more current research, search one of our general or subject-specific databases.
NOTE: During the current COVID-19 situation, JSTOR has opened access to additional journals and primary source collections beyond the ones we already subscribe to as well as a collection of ebooks. This additional access will be through December 31, 2020. The access to the ebooks will be through August 31, 2020.
Extensive audio and video for classical, opera, jazz, world, & American music.
Includes African American Music Reference, American song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, and Jazz Music Library.
A wide range of historic and contemporary rock and popular music can be found on YouTube. Please be aware that in many cases this content may have been uploaded to the site without the permission of the copyright holder.