This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
Career information can be found in the Resources for Careers in Music subject guide.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised July 2017, Chris Durman
DeVine Music Library Coordinator
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, G-04
1741 Volunteer Blvd., 37996-2600
History of Rock Class Resources
History of Rock students, click here to find resources for your class research.
Journals
- Electronic MusicianCall Number: ML1380 .E4
- Guitar PlayerCall Number: ML1 .G85
- KeyboardCall Number: ML1 .C9153
- MixCall Number: HD9697 .P563 U55
- Popular MusicCall Number: Electronic Resource
- Popular Music and SocietyCall Number: ML1 .P69457
- RecordingCall Number: ML73 .M885
Key Databases
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places to begin your research:
- Oxford Music OnlinePart of Oxford Music Online
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Listen to music in these databases:
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
- YouTubeA wide range of historic and contemporary rock and popular music can be found on YouTube. Please be aware that in many cases this content may have been uploaded to the site without the permission of the copyright holder.