Research Guides: Nutrition: Articles/Databases

Essential Databases for Finding Articles

PubMed
The single most important database for biomedicine.
PubMed Help || Tutorial || Quick Start || Introduction
Web of Science
Citation index for sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Video Tutorials
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Other Useful Databases

Agricola 1970+
Coverage of food and nutrition—from the USDA.

Biological Abstracts
Click 'All Databases' tab to search top biological sciences databases simultaneously: Bio Abs, Web of Science, Zoological Record, and CABI.
CABI: CAB Abstracts
Includes coverage of human health, food, and nutrition along with other disciplines such as agriculture.
CINAHL Complete
The most inclusive index for the field of nursing. Includes coverage of other allied health areas such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more. Unlimited users.
CINAHL Tutorial
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Cochrane Library
A unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. An important resource for evidence-based medicine.
If the content of a Wiley database is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance.
Users of keyboard or swipe/gesture navigation may require assistance with this resource and should avoid MacOS or iOS devices. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for further assistance.
ComDisDome
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
Education Source
Education Source combines Education Full Text and Education Index Retrospective. In addition, Education Source has added hundreds of unique resources that were not previously available elsewhere. Coverage dates back to 1929.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
ERIC / EBSCOhost
Includes indexed and some full-text education literature and resources. Coverage from 1966 to present.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Health Policy Reference Center
Full-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

MedlinePlus
Provides consumer health information resources about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

APA PsycINFO
The premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology.
R2 Digital Library
E-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities). Coverage is strongest for 1996 to present. Complements Web of Science.
UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center.