How to Get the Full Text of the research articles
- Try oaDOI First"If there's an open access version of the article, the oaDOI URL will send you there, instead of the paywalled article landing page."
- Next Try the Open Access Button"We get you instant, legal access to articles - and request articles that aren't available. Join a community changing research by creating a request and sharing your story."
- unPaywall Plug-in for FireFox and ChromeunPaywall is a new entry into the growing list of utilities that find a freely accessible version of articles. More info: http://blog.impactstory.org/.
Next, 1) Try contacting the public library about interlibrary loan, or 2) Try contacting the author directly, if the article was published recently, and the email address of the author is readily available. Send the author the complete citation and request for the full text. Authors usually respond quickly to requests. Direct requests remind authors that the audience for their research is much larger than they imagine. 3) If you have children in college, especially 4-year public institutions, they may have access to a wide array of full-text articles and their library may allow guest wireless access.
Workshop participants, please contact UT librarian Rachel Caldwell to request full text.
Open Access
A great deal of scholarly publishing exists behind paywalls. Open Access is a movement to make scholarly research openly available to the public.
If you know researchers, graduate students, or faculty members, talk to them about how their research can help you and your organization. Ask them to publish openly. If they have questions, librarians are available to help authors identify OA publishers and journals with good practices. Learn more about OA.
Contact
For more information, contact subject experts at the UT librarians.
Welcome!
If you are a nonprofit organization in East Tennessee, this guide is intended to help you access and find peer-reviewed articles and other scholarly research.
In the guides below, databases are divided into the following categories:
- Open Search: You do not need to be on campus to access this database for searching purposes.
- On-Campus Search: Access is available to non-UT affiliates on campus only.
For more information on how to use our library databases, please visit our Tutorials & Videos page: https://libguides.utk.edu/tutorials.
Databases
Start Here
- Open Search: Tennessee Electronic Library >> Academic OneFile
- On-Campus Search: Academic Search Complete
- Data: Use a Google domain search and limit to site:.gov (Example: Search Google for high school dropout site:.gov)
- Google Scholar Cited By: If you have 1 or more relevant articles, type the title in to Google Scholar, then look under the description for a link to "Cited By," which links to articles that cite the relevant article.
- IssueLab is an open access repository with resources produced by nonprofits, foundations, and academic research centers, affiliated with the Foundation Center.
Research in Childhood & Education
Open Search:
On-Campus Search:
- ERIC / EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Research in Health
Open Search:
- MedlinePlus
- PubMed - Use the PubMed Basics Guide for help.
- Tennessee Electronic Library - Use Health Reference Center Academic and Nursing and Allied Health Collection under “All Resources”
On-Campus Search:
- CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Homelessness & Poverty
Open Search:
Uniform Crime Reporting (FBI): Four annual publications, Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program.
- Data.census.govThis new platform provides access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including new data from American FactFinder and other data sources.
On-Campus Search:
- APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Nonprofit Administration
Open Search:
On-Campus Search:
Other Libraries and Tips for Developing a Database Search
Other Libraries & Resources
The UT Libraries is not the only place to get help with accessing scholarly research. Try these groups, too, and request a consult with a librarian:
- Katz Law Library (UT)
- Knox County Public Library
- Municipal Technical Advisory Service
- Preston Medical Library (UT Medical Center)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Tips for Developing a Database Search:
1/ Databases have more rules to follow than Internet search engines.
2/ An understanding of how to use logical operators AND, OR, NOT to connect search words is fundamental. Here is a tutorial "Boolean: Combining Keywords" (Source: University of Aukland).
3/ A worksheet ensures keywords are connected correctly. Here is an example worksheet from Adelphi University:
4/ More search tips: @DIYHarvardLibry including this one on Diagnosing Search Problems
In our workshops and consultations, we talk about how to find peer reviewed journal articles in databases. Here is an overview of peer review or refereed journal articles:
- Peer Review Basics--Cornell U. GuideOverview of peer review, if a bit outdated in some aspects due to innovations in scholarly publishing 2014--present by journals like PeerJ.