Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Tutorials: UT Libraries Tutorials

Basic tutorials on using library resources, evaluating information, plagiarism, and more.
Filter by tutorial by category:

And then filter by tutorial type:

*All tutorials open in a new tab/window.

Research Basics



Applied Learning


This interactive module provides scenarios and explanations about how to cite sources.




Interactive Guide


This interactive guide will walk you through finding and accessing articles in UT's One Search in an example database Academic Search Complete.




Interactive Guide


This interactive guide will walk you through using UT Libraries' One Search to look for books and other materials.




Text-based Guide


This guide provides tips and strategies for the research process. It includes keyboard shortcuts, search tips, and search strategies.




Applied Learning


This interactive module provides scenarios and explanations about how to differentiate between primary and secondary sources.



Databases & Research Tools


CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature)


Video


This video series guides users through using the database CINAHL, which is a comprehensive database for the literature of nursing and provides extensive coverage of allied health.




Video


This video will walk you through connecting your UT Library account and Google Scholar.



ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)


Video


This video series guides users through using the database ERIC, which is a database for journal articles and documents in all areas of education.




Video


This video series guides users through using the database JSTOR, which includes selected scholarly journals and articles in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.




Video


This video will walk you through connecting LibKey Nomad to your UT Library account, which will provide faster access to articles that use the software.




Interactive Guide


This interactive guide walks users through using the database PsycINFO, which is a database for journal articles, books, and dissertations in all areas of psychology.




Interactive Guide


This video series guides users through using the database PubMed (for Nursing & Health Sciences), which is a database for biomedicine.



PubMed {Legacy} - Veterinary Students & Veterinarians (from Texas A&M University - Center for Educational Technologies)


Applied Learning


This interactive module is a case study that guides users through using the database PubMed {Legacy} (for Veterinary Students & Veterinarians), which is a database for biomedicine.




Interactive Guide


This interactive guide walks users through using the database Scopus, which is a multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities).




Video


This video series guides users through using the courseware Visible Body, which is a comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body.




Video


This video series guides users through using the database Web of Science, which is a multidisciplinary index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities.




Video


This video series guides users through using the database WorldCat, which is a record of materials cataloged in libraries around the world.



About UT Libraries



Interactive Guide


This interactive guide works like a choose your own adventure game that shows you around Pendergrass Library.




Interactive Guide


This interactive guide works like a choose your own adventure game that shows you around Hodges Library.




Video


This video will show you 10 helpful areas around Hodges Library.



Legend

Look for the following filters to understand each guide's category:

Research Basics

Tutorials in this category focus on improving research skills.

Databases and Research Tools

Tutorials in this category will discuss accessing and using databases as well as other tools and apps that support the research process.

About UT Libraries

Tutorials in this category contain information specific to the UT Libraries.


Look for the following filters to choose a type of tutorial:

Applied Learning

These tutorials walk users through a concept, such as information literacy. Users will answer questions based on the information along the way. They may have a variety of formats within them - including text, videos, animations, etc.

Interactive Guide

These tutorials walk users through a process, such as using an app, database, or research tool. Users are asked to complete requested actions along the way. These guides may have a variety of formats within them - including text, videos, and questions.

Text-Based Guide

These tutorials will be text-based, such as PDFs or web sites.

Video-Based Guide

These tutorials are video-based. They may contain a series of videos or just one.

Return to Top

 

Instructors...

Want to add a tutorial to your Canvas course?

Review our instructions about Adding Resources to a Canvas Module.


UT Librarians...

Interested in adding a tutorial to your own LibGuide?

Learn about Reusing an Existing LibGuide Box.