Skip to main content

PsycINFO: Tutorials

Getting Started

Is this your first time using PsycINFO, you’re in the right place! In this section, you will learn how to access PsycINFO from the UT Libraries website and how to create and access a PsycINFO account.


Please Note: These tutorials work best if accessed on the UTK campus wifi.
If off-campus: Once you access the tutorial, click the link at the top right side of the page and log in.


Introduction: General information about the PsycINFO database and how to access it from UT's University Libraries' website.


MyAccount: A step-by-step guide about creating and accessing your account in PsycINFO.

Basic Searching

This is a great place to start if you are an undergraduate student, or just starting your research! In this section, you will learn how to do basic keyword searching in PsycINFO and how to find what you need from the results page, and how to access full text from your results!


Please Note: These tutorials work best if accessed on the UTK campus wifi.
If off-campus: Once you access the tutorial, click the link at the top right side of the page and log in.


Search Tips: Step-by-step instructions walking users through a basic advanced search in PsycINFO. Includes searches using Boolean operators, limiting by peer reviewed only, and specifying publication dates.


Results: This tutorial walks users through the various options that are available after search results are returned. Includes assessing basic article information, such as the abstract, related subjects, and permalink, as well as downloading full text and saving results for later usage.

Advanced Searching

If you are already familiar with PsycINFO, or have already found some research through basic searching, this is a great place to learn more about what PsycINFO can do. In this section, you will learn how to use the thesaurus to expand your searches and more advanced Boolean operators beyond AND, OR, and NOT. This section is recommended for honors undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty.


Please Note: These tutorials work best if accessed on the UTK campus wifi.
If off-campus: Once you access the tutorial, click the link at the top right side of the page and log in.


Thesaurus: This tutorial will focus on accessing and using PsycINFO's built-in Thesaurus. Users can use the thesaurus to find the database’s preferred subject terms. It is also a useful resource for choosing keywords.


Tips for Advanced Searching: This tutorial will focus on search tips that might be useful for more experienced searchers, such as searching within specific search fields; limiting searches by language, target audience, classification, etc.; and using the proximity operators NEAR, PRE, and EXACT.

All Tutorials

This section contains all the tutorials available for PsycINFO created by the University of Tennessee University Libraries. They cover everything from finding PsycINFO to advanced search tips. This tab is helpful for students who have been assigned all of the tutorials for a class, or for anyone who wants to learn everything they can about how to use PsycINFO to find psychological research.


Please Note: These tutorials work best if accessed on the UTK campus wifi.
If off-campus: Once you access the tutorial, click the link at the top right side of the page and log in.


Introduction: General information about the PsycINFO database and how to access it from UT's University Libraries' website.


MyAccount: A step-by-step guide about creating and accessing your account in PsycINFO.


Search Tips: Step-by-step instructions walking users through a basic advanced search in PsycINFO. Includes searches using Boolean operators, limiting by peer reviewed only, and specifying publication dates.


Results: This tutorial walks users through the various options that are available after search results are returned. Includes assessing basic article information, such as the abstract, related subjects, and permalink, as well as downloading full text and saving results for later usage.


Thesaurus: This tutorial will focus on accessing and using PsycINFO's built-in Thesaurus. Users can use the thesaurus to find the database’s preferred subject terms. It is also a useful resource for choosing keywords.


Tips for Advanced Searching: This tutorial will focus on search tips that might be useful for more experienced searchers, such as searching within specific search fields; limiting searches by language, target audience, classification, etc.; and using the proximity operators NEAR, PRE, and EXACT.