The subject databases below focus on indexing publications in a specific discipline and are an ideal starting point for searching the literature. These are the key databases in the field. Need help finding the information you need? Contact your subject librarian Niki Cobb.
Kinesiology
- Embase
A comprehensive biomedical research database with a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research. Basic biomedical science, veterinary science and extensive allied health topics are also included.
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature of nursing and allied health disciplines, such as athletic training, health information, nutrition, and recreational therapy. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Sports and sports medicine full-text journals from 1975 to present.
- Sports Medicine & Education IndexScholarly and trade literature in physical education, sports medicine, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, and more.
Recreation
- CABI: CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Although primarily associated with agriculture, this database covers research articles on leisure, recreation, sports, tourism, and hospitality. - CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature of nursing and allied health disciplines, such as athletic training, health information, nutrition, and recreational therapy. - Sociological AbstractsCovers the literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sport Studies
- Business Source CompleteA scholarly business database covering all disciplines of business.
- SBRnet : Sports Business Research NetworkConsumer research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles related to sports business, sports marketing and sports marketing analytics.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Sports and sports medicine full-text journals from 1975 to present.
- ERIC / ProQuestCovers the education literature.
- Education SourceComplements the ERIC database with a broad coverage of education topics.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These three databases cover scholarly publications from a wide range of disciplines and should be included in comprehensive searches or if your topic spans multiple research areas.
- Academic Search CompleteAlso includes non-peer reviewed publications.